Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is absolutely delicious, and so easy to put together. Even more so for me, as I used pre-minced garlic (a LOT more than was called for), and onion powder. Since so many reviews stated the sauce was thin, I did drain the tomatoes before adding. I just brought all but the cream and butter to a boil, then cooked on medium for about 10 minutes to let the tomatoes simmer a bit longer for better flavor. I then reduced the heat, and added the cream and butter and cooked about 5 minutes as called for. I did not blend as others did, as I like little chunks of tomato. Sauce was a little bit thin, but not overly so once tossed with penne. The next day the consistency is perfect. Topped with shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris Fleming
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
SO GOOD. Added chicken, mushrooms, red peppers and put it over speghettini with fresh grated parm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
It was so easy to make, my entire family loved it and I loved that it was quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teirra
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Love it. I will definitely make this again just double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teirra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I really liked this recipe and will be making it often, since I almost always have all of the ingredients in my pantry. I added mushrooms late (when reducing after adding the tomatoes) because I almost forgot them and totally misread that it called for 1 Tablespoon of basil and just used 1 teaspoon. I liked having the chunky tomatoes. I would maybe add a bit more cream and definitely double this recipe if I were cooking for more than just myself. It makes enough sauce for me to have a plate for dinner and a plate of leftovers. If I were a more normal person I could maybe stretch it to three, but there's no way this makes five normal person servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The only substitutions I made were based on what I had on hand (onion powder-no onions) and personal preference, (brown sugar over white), everything else was as is. I loved it. I made sure the tomatoes were boiled down before adding the cream and butter. I had it over spaghetti with leftover chicken on top from a previous tomato based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sbr5890
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Loved it! I cooked angel hair pasta and a spinach and other greens blend in olive oil with sea salt. My presentation was pasta with this sauce on top and the greens around the perimeter . I topped it with parmasean cheese. Absolutely delicious. I made this on Ash Wednesday an alternative for a meatless meal. I can see. Adding shrimp or Italian sausage in for variation .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I loved this recipe. I made the recipe as written except followed other commenters advice and added less sugar and thickened the sauce slightly with flour. Such a nice flavor yet easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My Independent Living class made this today - they loved it as well as the adults who were lucky enough to get some! We had Parmesan to sprinkle on top and I would definitely recommend adding it, Mozzarella would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I added 2 cloves of garlic.didnt have cream so added 2 heaping soup spoons of fat free sour cream. Puréed all of it. Then boiled 2 cups of rotini and mixed sauce in. Put mixture in baking dish. Topped with mozzarella and baked 20 minutes till cheese melted. It was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States