Tomato-Cornbread Salad with Avocado and Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was delicious! The sweetness of the cornbread contrasts nicely with the other flavors. I used leftover cornbread I had made and frozen (recipe from this site). I also added some bell pepper (chopped really finely) and a dash of lime juice. It took me a long time to dry out the cornbread (about an hour and a half in the toaster oven) but it was worth it because it had a nice crunch. This recipe is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
We loved this! Easy, delicious, filling. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Mmm this is delicious! Tomatoes from the garden usually means tons of tomato salad and fresh salsa this time of year and I was looking for something a little different...found it!! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I've been wanting to try making a bread salad for a while. The cornbread bites tasted good but the other flavors were overpowering. I found myself pushing the red onion out of the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is fantastic as is! However if you want to make it incredible...add some crumbled bacon. I've also added a can of rinsed white beans to add some protein for a delicious one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this for a family gathering and even the pickiest eaters LOVED this. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe for using up old cornbread. I'd definitely make again. I thought it was a little heavy on the onion--next time, I'll cut that in half. I also used dried cilantro (about 1 T.), and that worked out fine. I mixed the cilantro in with the tomatoes, so it had time to soften up in the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Good, but interesting. I can't help but think this tasted like guacamole with cornbread crutons thrown in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was really good, with a few changes, use fresh tomato, instead of steamed, and sweet onion instead of red. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe goes well with a Mexican themed dinner. I served this with chicken enchiladas and spanish rice. It was a hit. Make sure to bake the corn bread until it is crispy, or it will get too mushy. For best results, add the corn bread just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States