Tomato-Cornbread Salad with Avocado and Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I thought I'd love this. It would be one of those simple ingredient magical dishes that's amazing. It wasn't amazing. :( 'Glad I tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
AMAZING!!! Just made this for dinner and it was incredible! I added in more avocado than the recipe called for, and threw in diced microwaved zuccini as well. Also subbed dried basil for cilantro! We loved loved loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I've never had cornbread salad but I know this one isn't true to form. I picked it for the lack of mayo and I'm glad I did. Hubby thought it needed something and added just a bit of Pace Picante sauce. He's a smart man. And please dry out your cornbread cubes before using and let them soak up the vinaigrette for about 10-15 mins. You want them to have a chewy texture, not mushy. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by luna
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was very good! I make Panzenella in the summer as one of several dishes that I make to use up those wonderful home grown tomatoes. I'm going to add this to my list! I used a bag of sweet butter cornbread crouton's that I found at the super market instead of making the cornbread from a mix. It saved time and best of all, I didn't have to heat up the oven! The croutons worked just fine I will defanitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
It makes a lot for our little family, but it's so good that we don't want to waste any, so we almost make ourselves sick trying to make sure that there aren't any left overs. This is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I really liked this. I was making for only me for lunch so I scaled it was down and pretty much just eyeballed everything. I used some green onions that I have instead of the red onion and I left out the cilantro because I didn't have any. Really nice, summery, simple, and pretty healthy lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Yum. This was so unique, delicious and healthy. It was a very exciting mix of flavors. Next time I will do one tiny thing different to make this even better for my tastes...add a pepper of some sort to spice things up. I love spicy. The cornbread would offset the spicy. Make sure you listen to the direction about mixing the cornbread in 10 minutes before you serve it...no more, no less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Clever idea--using cornbread! The dressing can be kicked up a notch; I added mint, strawberries and more vinegar. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very good! I added some balsamic vinegar and I would say that this is a great side dish but not too versatile. Avoid the urge to add more to it and enjoy it for its simplicity. Cilantro does pull it all together, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is AMAZING!! It has such great flavor...I even burnt my cornbread and it was still sooo good. I didnt have red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic and it still turned out amazing! This is a great side dish, lunch or snack. Its my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrebonne, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States