Tomato-Cornbread Salad with Avocado and Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe goes well with a Mexican themed dinner. I served this with chicken enchiladas and spanish rice. It was a hit. Make sure to bake the corn bread until it is crispy, or it will get too mushy. For best results, add the corn bread just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was excellent. I used a batch of cornbread off the corn meal box, 4 large vine-on tomatoes (can't wait for my garden tomatoes to ripen!!), doubled the cilantro, and only used one avocado. Also had no red wine vinegar so used cider vinegar instead. This is a great recipe to modify for what you have on hand; I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I really liked this. I was making for only me for lunch so I scaled it was down and pretty much just eyeballed everything. I used some green onions that I have instead of the red onion and I left out the cilantro because I didn't have any. Really nice, summery, simple, and pretty healthy lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is AMAZING!! It has such great flavor...I even burnt my cornbread and it was still sooo good. I didnt have red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic and it still turned out amazing! This is a great side dish, lunch or snack. Its my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrebonne, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was delicious! The sweetness of the cornbread contrasts nicely with the other flavors. I used leftover cornbread I had made and frozen (recipe from this site). I also added some bell pepper (chopped really finely) and a dash of lime juice. It took me a long time to dry out the cornbread (about an hour and a half in the toaster oven) but it was worth it because it had a nice crunch. This recipe is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is fantastic as is! However if you want to make it incredible...add some crumbled bacon. I've also added a can of rinsed white beans to add some protein for a delicious one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Fun way to use up left over cornbread. Amazing salad; just make sure to eat it right after you toss the cornbread with other ingredients, otherwise it will get soggy. Very creative and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Clever idea--using cornbread! The dressing can be kicked up a notch; I added mint, strawberries and more vinegar. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
this was the first time that i made this dish. just found it off the web site and tried for the family. we had alot of tomatoes to use up from the garden and it turned out great. everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luna
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was very good! I make Panzenella in the summer as one of several dishes that I make to use up those wonderful home grown tomatoes. I'm going to add this to my list! I used a bag of sweet butter cornbread crouton's that I found at the super market instead of making the cornbread from a mix. It saved time and best of all, I didn't have to heat up the oven! The croutons worked just fine I will defanitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States