Tomato, Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Sooooo Good! Used black beans instead of olives and left out olive oil. Kick up the jalepeno if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
really good salsa will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDALSO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is an excellent dip, or just served as a side salad. This is a recipe that I am requested to bring with me everywhere all summer long...it's always a big hit! Definitely worth all the prep work. I do usually either add a whole jalepeno or a can of chopped jalepenos for extra spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The recipe is absolutely wonderful! I have had many people ask me for the recipe. I have made it several times, and have to leave out the black olives and avocado on occasion but even without these the recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made a few changes as well. I sauteed 4 ears of fresh corn in olive oil with kosher salt. Replaced the olives with a can of black beans. Used 6 small tomatoes, one red and one orange bell pepper, 2 avocados and 2 Tablespoons minced jalapenos. the juice from 4 limes. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I've made this a couple times now and it is very good. I was asked for the recipe at the potluck and that has never happened to me before. The only things I do differently are to use cherry or grape tomatoes instead of roma, add an extra avocado, and add cilantro. To me, it just isn't salsa without cilantro! **Update 10/15/11** I am no longer permitted to attend any potluck without bringing this dish! No matter how much I make, there is never any left. The secret to making this the best ever, is to combine all the ingredients except the avocado the night before and refrigerate. This allows the flavors to meld into perfection. The avocado will turn mushy if you add them the night before. Also make sure to cover it tightly otherwise the strong onion smell will permeate your entire fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I didn't have olives but made the rest as stated and added fresh cilantro. This is a very good and fresh tasting salsa which gets better after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
i added 2 extra avocados, 1 extra tomato and a few extra jalapenos for a little more heat and it was WONDERFUL!!! i served this at a Gallery Exhibition and it was a hit with all the artists & critics...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The picture for this recipe may be a little off-putting, but as they say: "You can't judge a book by its cover." This recipe is 5-stars for me! My family loves this stuff!! I love all the fresh ingredients (except the red pepper which I don't add). I like it salty with the lime juice (especially on my avocados), but all the flavors fuse really well. I add a can of drained black beans in it, which makes it better. We eat this salsa on fish tacos or by itself with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMIJAY
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was so good! I have no hesitation in giving it five stars, and it's very easy to make. I made it as a side for a family taco dinner and it stole the show. I made it exactly as written and served it with blue corn chips, but my brother and I agreed that it would be just as good (if not better) served simply as a salad since it's chunky and a little hard to scoop. I was also surprised at how well the leftovers held up on the second, and even third day. I think the lime juice must keep the avocado from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States