Tomato, Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Fantastic! For those of you who like super spicy stuff like myself, this salsa is not spicy at all, but still awesome!. The flavors are enough to make me not miss the spiciness at all. I followed the recipe exactly without any omits or substitutions, and I think that was the right way to go. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Too bland for me :( I doctored this up with garlic, cilantro, pepper, cumin and a bit of red wine vinegar, which greatly improved it, but still didn't wow anyone this time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was yummy..... Followed recipe exactly.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I cannot say enough awesome things about this recipe! I do play around with it a bit now that I am comfortable (plain chili versus jalapenos). Every time though, people demand more and more of it! Awesome job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shotwench

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Wow. I first ate this at a potluck and demanded the recipe! Now, I can't stop eating it. I +/- a lot of the ingredients, more tomatoes, more avocado, less onion, I play around each time I make. I am adding cilantro this time, give it a bit more mexican taste! Oh, and I don't add the olives either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATASHAW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
For my southern born extended family, I needed something for the crowd that occupies left of the middle road and this did it hands down. I added black beans (because my wife likes them and they are healthy) and it worked well. Recipe bookmarked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Not a huge fan of the back olives. I wanted it to be spicier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made a few changes to the recipe: juice of 1 lime, chili powder, 1 diced jalapeno, 1 can black beans and omitted the olives. I forgot to add the avocado but the salsa was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious!!! I substituted red onion for minced onion, and red pepper for crushed red pepper. I omitted the jalopenos. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This came together easily and everyone loved it. Some (like my husband) were not sure of the chunky texture, but "the jalopeno junky", said it could have been hotter. Everyone else thought it was just right. My son said, it's surprisingly good!" The avocados at the store were not ripe, so the avocado ended up being left off. Instead, I used a can of black beans, rinsed. For extra bite, I added an extra tablespoon of lime juice, in addition to an extra teaspoon of ground chipotle pepper. Everything else went in pretty much as the recipe called for. Despite the avocados being left out - this came out well. It didn't need the avocado! As the salsa sat on the serving table, it developed its own juices - at least a cup in the bottom of its bowl, so we kept stirring it up. It kept getting better and better! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States