Tomato, Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I can't stop eating this salsa. It is super addicting. This stuff is awesome!!! Only things that I did differently was that I added 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, and I added a tbsp. more lime juice, and I substituted the black olives with a can of black beans b/c my husband hates olives, unfortunately. I'm surprised more people have not reviewed this outstanding recipe b/c it's THAT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I made this on Saturday with a few changes, otherwise everything the same! I didn't put olives, used cherry tomatoes and seeded a whole jalapeno pepper and put it all! Add 1 tsp chopped garlic and pepper and salt!After i put the Lime juice it didn't really need the olive oil so I didn't use it. Let marinade together a few hours! when ready to serve take just what you going to eat and add the avocado that way you don't waste all of it because the avacado turns brown! We thought this was the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is truly amazing! The only thing I added was more avocado and black beans. It makes a lot, so if you have left-over just remember to keep the seed of the avocado in the salsa so the avocado doesn't turn brown. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Best salsa ever! Hands down. Made w/fresh roma tomatoes from the garden. Sooo fresh & delicious. Doesn't have that yucky, gooey consistency that most jarred salsas have. Wouldn't change a thing. Recipe makes a party-sized portion too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this recipe for a salsa contest and won. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This came together easily and everyone loved it. Some (like my husband) were not sure of the chunky texture, but "the jalopeno junky", said it could have been hotter. Everyone else thought it was just right. My son said, it's surprisingly good!" The avocados at the store were not ripe, so the avocado ended up being left off. Instead, I used a can of black beans, rinsed. For extra bite, I added an extra tablespoon of lime juice, in addition to an extra teaspoon of ground chipotle pepper. Everything else went in pretty much as the recipe called for. Despite the avocados being left out - this came out well. It didn't need the avocado! As the salsa sat on the serving table, it developed its own juices - at least a cup in the bottom of its bowl, so we kept stirring it up. It kept getting better and better! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was sooo good! I made this and guacamole for an appetizer and EVERYONE loved it!! I added more avacado because I love them and it was excellent. Its better if you eat it within 2 hours because the avacados seem to "melt" and make everything look cloudy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
YUM!!! Left out olives but it was great without them. Make sure to give it a generous squeeze of lime juice. That's what gives this the brightness of flavor. Served this atop Mexican Style Shredded Pork (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mexican-Style-Shredded-Pork/Detail.aspx ) from this site. It absolutely made the dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great! The few tweaks I made was to add a little bit of garlic salt, cumin, and chili powder to this. I also added black beans (drained and rinsed) along with an extra avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was Excellent! I took it to a mexican potluck and everyone loved it. The only thing I did different was to add garlic salt and I found a can of sliced olives marinated in jalepeno juice. I will definetely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States