Tomato Chutney II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Definitely a unique dish with some unique flavors, but the mix of sweet and spicy blends really well. I followed recipe as is except I used 1/2 teaspoon of sugar instead of 1 teaspoon. Does have a little bit of a kick. I think I'll also cut back on the chili powder a little next time. Very good recipe. I'm still shocked at the result. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sivani
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was a great recipe, but it was even better when I added a teaspoon of tamarind extract, 1 chopped green chile, and 1 tablespoon of hot sauce for an extra spicy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Way too hot using the recommended amount of chili powder...I had to add 3 more cups of tomatoes to bring down the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I had a lot of tomatoes from my garden I needed to use up. This recipe was a great way to do that. I added only a teaspoon of sugar because I didn't want this to be so sweet. I used fresh ginger and substituted parsley for the cilantro. This cooked down into a rich and deep red tasty sauce. I served it as a dipping sauce for samosas but I can see this for a lot of other dishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was not expecting this taste. Very unique and very delicious. I did not have fresh cilantro so I used dry. My husband liked it but I'm not sure he could wrap his mind around sweet tomatoes, so I would use less sugar next time. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was good. I pureed the chutney. I added lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. I will definately be making this one again and again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was way too sweet for my taste. I'd hold back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was an absolute hit at my house-- my friends devoured it when paired with some indian roti. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kait McNally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
very easy, I cooked it longer, will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukekohe, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States