Tomato Chutney II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sivani
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was a great recipe, but it was even better when I added a teaspoon of tamarind extract, 1 chopped green chile, and 1 tablespoon of hot sauce for an extra spicy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Way too hot using the recommended amount of chili powder...I had to add 3 more cups of tomatoes to bring down the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I had a lot of tomatoes from my garden I needed to use up. This recipe was a great way to do that. I added only a teaspoon of sugar because I didn't want this to be so sweet. I used fresh ginger and substituted parsley for the cilantro. This cooked down into a rich and deep red tasty sauce. I served it as a dipping sauce for samosas but I can see this for a lot of other dishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was not expecting this taste. Very unique and very delicious. I did not have fresh cilantro so I used dry. My husband liked it but I'm not sure he could wrap his mind around sweet tomatoes, so I would use less sugar next time. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was good. I pureed the chutney. I added lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. I will definately be making this one again and again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was way too sweet for my taste. I'd hold back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was an absolute hit at my house-- my friends devoured it when paired with some indian roti. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
very easy, I cooked it longer, will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukekohe, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I left out the chili powder in favor of a fresh hatch pepper, used less than a teaspoon of sugar and omitted the cilantro because I didn't have any. I also used fresh ginger and garlic. Using ground spices would be simpler and probably help the sauce set up a little better, but the fresh ingredients make the sauce incredibly flavorful and delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States