Tomato Chutney II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Loved it! Served it as a dip for whole wheat pita's. No modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Not bad at all. Very easy too. I used ginger paste because it was what I had available. Also added 1 tsp oil. Ate with Paratha. Husband found it to be a tad too sweet. But it was nostalgic for us to eat, as we are both ethnically Indian but dont make too much of Indian foods...yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
It was a perfect companion to hot and spicy aloo phujia. I omitted the chilli because the aloo was hot enough for me. Tomatoes in both dishes tied all together well, and i will be serving this at our birthdays party on 27th of this month. It is a snap to make, and sooo wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOT SKILLET

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
this tasted great! first time to make chutney and no problems. i used half the chili powder because i have young daughters that won't eat anything too spicey. made a very small serving to use in a bobotie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I left out the chili powder in favor of a fresh hatch pepper, used less than a teaspoon of sugar and omitted the cilantro because I didn't have any. I also used fresh ginger and garlic. Using ground spices would be simpler and probably help the sauce set up a little better, but the fresh ingredients make the sauce incredibly flavorful and delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
very easy, I cooked it longer, will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pukekohe, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was an absolute hit at my house-- my friends devoured it when paired with some indian roti. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kait McNally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was way too sweet for my taste. I'd hold back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. I will definately be making this one again and again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was good. I pureed the chutney. I added lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States