Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Enjoyed this easy recipe. Will be great for end of summer tomato blowout. Sure maybe a tad more spice is needed. With garlic bread on the side to soak up the juices we enjoyed. Chicken did not brown as stated before juice got going. Next time I will put chicken in first with the spices and wait on putting tomatoes in. Just to see if there is difference in something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have made this twice. I Followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. I do this with all the recipes I rate to be fair, but I liked it even better the second time I made it. The second time I made it I seasoned the chicken with the spices and browned the thighs in light tasting olive oil with onion slices, then added the tomatoes. Simmered for 45 minutes, then added a splash of white wine, lime juice and fresh cilantro and cooked a minute or 2 longer when wine was cooked down. I Served it over white rice. Will definitely make again and again and use more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was sooooo good. I only had 6 legs, I used a teaspoon of all the seasonings and through in a can of tomato sauce for extra gravey over rice. I also only used 2 tomatos. Yum yum. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is great! Did not find it boring. Sometimes less is more. Give the spices time to meld overnight. Makes a difference. Will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is so good. I never have turmeric, so I skip that part. And canned tomatoes do a fine job. Excellent served over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Added mushrooms, raisons, saffron, and sliced almonds. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Home Town: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good as is. I used garlic flavored oil and less fresh garlic ( for my tummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
We loved this! Especially my husband! Will add to our dinner rotation. Only changes were based on what I had on hand. Used ground ginger instead of ginger root, ground mustard instead of turmeric, and canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Great for dinner but didn't taste as good for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was really good as is! I did make a few changes in the end (I know people hate when you change a recipe- but this was really adaptable and I only made a few changes after tasting the final product)...I didn't have chili powder so I added some chili flakes instead. I didnt have ginger, so I skipped it. I used boneless skinless thighs and browned them in the coconut oil but with the tomatoes and spices in the beginning. Once it was done and I tasted it I added a tblsp. of sugar and a tblsp. of curry powder and a dash of salt. Adding these few ingredients really brought everything together, but it would have been great without. While browning the chicken I also added a chopped onion and some sliced mushrooms I had in the fridge. I called it 'Indian chicken and tomato stew' and served it over rice. I served it to company and everyone raved and even wanted the recipe. I will be making this again. It was delicious! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States