Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have made this twice. I Followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. I do this with all the recipes I rate to be fair, but I liked it even better the second time I made it. The second time I made it I seasoned the chicken with the spices and browned the thighs in light tasting olive oil with onion slices, then added the tomatoes. Simmered for 45 minutes, then added a splash of white wine, lime juice and fresh cilantro and cooked a minute or 2 longer when wine was cooked down. I Served it over white rice. Will definitely make again and again and use more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was sooooo good. I only had 6 legs, I used a teaspoon of all the seasonings and through in a can of tomato sauce for extra gravey over rice. I also only used 2 tomatos. Yum yum. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Okay. A little bit boring. I added a bit of cayenne to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good as is. I used garlic flavored oil and less fresh garlic ( for my tummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was really good as is! I did make a few changes in the end (I know people hate when you change a recipe- but this was really adaptable and I only made a few changes after tasting the final product)...I didn't have chili powder so I added some chili flakes instead. I didnt have ginger, so I skipped it. I used boneless skinless thighs and browned them in the coconut oil but with the tomatoes and spices in the beginning. Once it was done and I tasted it I added a tblsp. of sugar and a tblsp. of curry powder and a dash of salt. Adding these few ingredients really brought everything together, but it would have been great without. While browning the chicken I also added a chopped onion and some sliced mushrooms I had in the fridge. I called it 'Indian chicken and tomato stew' and served it over rice. I served it to company and everyone raved and even wanted the recipe. I will be making this again. It was delicious! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Added mushrooms, raisons, saffron, and sliced almonds. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Home Town: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is so good. I never have turmeric, so I skip that part. And canned tomatoes do a fine job. Excellent served over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This menu was a nice change and consisted of items I always keep in my pantry. I will try next time to add the tomato past or a little cornstarch so the sauce is a little thicker. But other than that, it was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Enjoyed this easy recipe. Will be great for end of summer tomato blowout. Sure maybe a tad more spice is needed. With garlic bread on the side to soak up the juices we enjoyed. Chicken did not brown as stated before juice got going. Next time I will put chicken in first with the spices and wait on putting tomatoes in. Just to see if there is difference in something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe was pretty good, but just a tad boring for me. My husband and I love flavorful food, and this was lacking a little. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfulwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States