Tomato Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Delicious! After one bite, my husband said this was the best chicken parmesan he has ever had and told me immediately to put this one in the recipe box. I have to agree, this dish is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars. There are changes I would say is a must though, and I read a lot of the reviews. If you don't do anything else, do these three things - #1) Pound your chicken breasts to an even half-inch thickness. This allows the chicken to stay moist and cook evenly in the skillet. #2) Cut the breading/parmesan mixture in half and reduce the beaten egg to 1. It was more than enough for me, and this is the type of ingredient you can always make more of, but if you make too much at first it will go to waste. #3) Add the cheese slices the last 5 minutes of cooking. 20 min. would be too long and burn the cheese. After 5 min. my cheese melted perfectly. I also added a bit of garlic powder & onion powder to the bread crumb mixture, and used Mozzarella cheese slices instead. As a time saver, when you buy a value pack of chicken breasts, pound some and put them individually in ziplock bags in the freezer. You can defrost them on short notice for this meal. I also prepared most of it while my 10 month old napped, and put the prepared 9x13 dish in the fridge until I was ready to pop it in the oven. I love everything about this recipe, from prep to taste - try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
897 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This recipe is the BOMB! It's so easy and incredibly delicious. The only thing that I did differently was that after I coated the chicken with the breadcrumb/parmesan cheese mixture, I set it aside in the refridgerator for about 30 minutes so that the coating would stick really well to the chicken when it was cooking in the skillet later. I also used mozarella cheese slices rather than monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
600 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
OMG! This was fabulous!!! Only made a few changes out of necessity as I didn't have all the ingredients on hand.... Added extra dried onion and garlic powder, dried oregano and sweet basil to the bread crumbs as I didn't have the seasoned variety on hand. Tip from other reviewers: Pound the chicken to 3/4", let the coated chicken sit in the fridge for 20 minutes prior to preparation so that the breading will stick better. Didn't have Monterey Jack cheese so I subbed smoked mozzarella which sent it over the top!!!! Absolutely sublime!!! Used Bertolli's tomato and basil sauce and mixed the remainder of the sauce with cooked egg noodles al dente and then layered the egg noodles on the bottom of the baking dish. Put the chicken on top and then cooked for 15 minutes. Per other reviews, added the cheese the last 5 to 7 minutes to melt and brown. This was unbelievabley good and definitely going into my rotation. You absolutely have to try this! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I did like everyone else and refrigerated the breaded raw chicken before cooking- that really does work well. I didn't fry the chicken, just baked on a cookie sheet about 20 minutes, before putting the whole thing together in a lasagna pan. I also added the jack cheese during the last 5 minutes, as others suggested. My husband thought he didn't care for chicken parm, but this was a real hit. It turned out perfect, crispy and moist. Thank you Alicia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This was a delicious dish! I did not follow the recipe exactly... Instead of only putting the sauce in the pan, and setting the chicken ON TOP, I poured the sauce on the bottom of the casserole dish, and then I poured the rest of the jar ON TOP of the chicken! This made for a more tender dish. Also, I sprinkled parm. cheese on the dish before I put it in the oven. Overall, it was delicious, tender and tangy-- YUM!! Overall grade: A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! My family of 6 all loved it. I used Italian bread crumbs, and took advice of others and baked the coated chicken for about 20 minutes prior to baking the dish, instead of frying. I then assembled the chicken over the sauce and baked for 15 minutes then last 5 minutes I added the cheese. I think that this makes delish chicken nuggests/strips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This was a great recipe! The whole family LOVED it! I did make a few minor changes. I used chicken tenders instead of filets. The chicken cooked much quicker and uniformly. I also preheated the oven to 350, sprayed a cookie sheat whith Pam and baked chicken for 20 min. to cut down on fat from the oil in pan frying. I also added parm. cheese, salt & pepper to the Italian bread crumbs! Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
My kids light up when I tell them we're having chicken parm for dinner. Without having to make your own sauce, this is a nice quick dinner for those on the run evenings. I liked the idea of the Monterey Jack cheese instead of the traditional mozarella. A tip for "BRANDYNM" who's breading was falling off while frying; place your breaded chicken cutlets in the fridge for about thirty minutes or so and you won't have a problem. (a non stick pan helps too) Thanks Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I don't know what makes this so good, but this is the best chicken parmesan that I have ever had. I followed the recipe and had wonderful results. I didn't use the monteray jack but rather mozzarella out of personal prefrence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Tasty and was enjoyed by all. Per previous reviews, served over fetticine alfredo. I added cooked chopped brocoli over all. The only thing I'd change is that next time, I plan to make my homemade alfredo sauce...used store bought and didnt taste as well. Still, my family agrees it should be made again. I should also note how easy this recipe was! Thanks for the good dinner idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Chicken Parmigiana

Make this quick and easy version of chicken Parmigiana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States