Tomato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Really Good! I had a bunch of fresh tomatoes on hand, so I just chopped a few and proceeded exactly as written. Good base recipe if one wanted to "jazz it up" a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I had some tomatoes that needed to be cooked, so this recipe was perfect! I used no-salt saltines and added a chopped chipotle pepper. I didn't measure, just threw it all in. I used a small amount of olive oil and the cakes were sticking to my new Green Pan, so it ended up being a wonderful side dish! I would also recommend wrapping it in Roti or Tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YoungWife
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this last night and will be having it again tonight already!! Huge hit!! I made it with garlic and herb diced tomatoes, a variety of crackers from the pantry, some sharp cheddar shredded cheese, lots of yummy fresh diced onions, an egg, and some seasonings: Salt, pepper, dill weed, lemon peel, fresh rosemary, and garlic powder. I also threw in a bit of Rotel tomatoes with cilantro. I added the egg to hold it all together better. Fried them up- and they got devoured before I could even get a very good picture of them! They didn't need a sauce at all, and strangely enough they tasted like they had meat in them. They can definitely be used as the main part of a meal! Thinking ill try frying bacon bits to throw in sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great, frugal recipe. It's a perfect use of extra saltine crackers and most cooks have a can of diced tomatoes on hand. I serve these with a dollop of yogurt or sour cream. It's delicious. They are crumbly when cooking and a non-stick pan is preferred over cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choosyGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Bland, yes, but I made a lot of these cakes and was determined to rescue them. Even in reading the recipe I knew I wanted to give them some extra zing: added toasted, salted sunflower seeds. Also, having no saltines, I subtsituded Mitlon's Multigrain crackers (I get mine at COSTCO) which improved the texture and appearance of the cakes. Still not zippy enough I deep fried the cakes with a coating of Zatarains Fish Fry Mix (also COSTCO). NOW we had a winner. For a main course serve as whole cakes. As a snack or appetizer, refrigerate until firm (for easy cutting) and cut into strips or cubes. Serve hot or cold with plain yogurt - a must. The tart of the yogurt, the sweetness of the tomatoes, and the spiciness of the fish fry mix are a divine combination. My guests worshipped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavor!! These cracker cakes are delicious and my family agrees. I would love to find a way skip the fryer and make these a little healthier, but as is they are scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danfox7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Sweet from the tomatoes but bland, add spices/pepper to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
The flavor was okay. It could definately using some spicing up. My kids didn't like this at all, though I was rather proud that my 5 year old choked it down. My 2 year old daughter snubbed them immediately and my 6 year old took one bit and made a rather unpleasent face. (He doesn't like tomatoes anyway) I myself, thought that the consistancy of the mixture was blah...It turned out mushy not crispy and I had my pan super heated. I might be able to get past the somewhat bland taste by adding some of the ingrediants other reviews have added, but I couldn't handle the texture at all. I ended up throwing the rest of the batch out. I may or may not try this again, but if I do, I think I will definately add other ingrediants and an egg; maybe that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
The cakes taste pretty good but are they supposed to turn out crispy? Mine ended up being mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are amazing. I've heard saltines are pretty bad for your body, but I can justify these. I accidentally used the canned tomatoes with green peppers in them, but it turned out great. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States