Tomato Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 23, August 2014 ~ I made a small batch using white balsamic vinegar rather than the brown balsamic. We really enjoyed this, but you do need to let the flavor meld for about 30 minutes. I was out of sweet red bell pepper, but I did have yellow on hand. Served this with 'Pepper Jelly Glazed Chicken' from AR and a tossed salad. We really enjoyed this version of bruschetta, and I know I will use this recipe again. Thanks, Joy Cowling Andrews for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
wonderful and very tasty. I couldn't eat/use a whole loaf of bread so I used the excess tomato mixture on chicken and fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious! Made this for a picnic, my guests ate it cold and it was just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Yum! I have cherry tomatoes and basil growing out my ears this year. This was a great recipe to use them in. It's an easy recipe to use what's growing in your garden. I have mild banana instead of red bell and white sweet onion instead of purple. Fresh parm instead of mozz. I know I changed a few things, but I still think the simple elegance of the dish shines. Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this for the RECIPE GROUP. I followed the recipe using all the ingredients; but, because I wanted a cold appetizer, I used the mozzarella as a garnish rather than melting it in the oven. I only used the flesh of the tomato not the seeds or juice. When it first got done, I was very disappointed in the taste. I just didn't like the pepper, it was too strong. (Perhaps my fault) After refrigeration of a few hours, it was "knock your socks off" good! All the flavors blended and it was totally delicious! I served the bruschetta separate, as I didn't want the bread to get soggy. I will be using this recipe often, infact I'll be making it again tomorrow. Thank you Joy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this for the Recipe group selection of the week. Instead of heating the house up with the oven, we made this on the gas grill. Turned out perfect using an Italian bread loaf. Cut the loaf down the middle and brush the olive oil on each half, place right on grill for only a minute to toast. Remove the bread and cut into smaller slices and place on a foil lined metal cookie sheet, top with the tomato mixture and cheese. Cook over indirect heat at 400° until the cheese melts. Took about 12 minutes. I just drizzled the oil and vinegar over my tomato mixture, but doubt it was anywhere near 1/4 cup each, still very refreshing flavor after sitting for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...BIG HIT! I used Italian bread, so it was more like a 'garlic bread' type thing to go w/ our pasta dinner. I used a mix of yellow and cherry tomatoes from the garden. Great flavor and it was enjoyed by all...a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just REALLY good! The next time that I make this, I'll try using white balsamic because you will lose the vibrant red color if it sits too long. White is milder in flavor, but it would be worth it to keep this bruschetta's eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Recipe group 8/23/14 This was so good as a hot weather supper. Easy to make and very refreshing. I ommitted the red bell pepper as I don't like it. Nice twist on the bruschetta recipe I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was super tasty even after I modified it. who doesn't? took out the oil and cheese to make it healthier and let it sit. Even used dried basil and onion as I made this last minute and it was very good. Didn't have any red pepper on hand so ommitted it as well. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annaliese
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States