Tomato Bredie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is filling and delicious. I didn't have vinegar so I used lemon juice. I omitted the peppercorns, sugar and instead of frying the meat dredged in cake flour, I browned it without and then added 2 tablespoons of gluten free pancake mix to give the bredie a "roux" like base. I also added a clove of garlic. I had the leftovers the next day and simmered an egg in the bredie. So good! This is my new winter staple. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, William R!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Perfect on cold winter's night. Taste's just like home and so easy. Used my slow cooker. Will definitely be bookmarking this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I am a South African living in America and this great recipe is very much like the traditional recipe my mother makes, which has been handed down through generations. Tasty, perfectly flavoured and easy to make- a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
My husband & 12 year old son loved this! I served it over rice. Instead of lamb or mutton, I used rotisserie chicken that I added after cooking all the rest of the ingredients (45 mins.). I cooked it another 10 mins. or so to heat the chicken completely. Other things I would change are that I would use only 1/2 of an onion, 1/4 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and 1 1/2 tsp. beef bouillon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Being South African I loved this recipe. Reminds me of my mother's cooking. I did this up in my poitjie pot and of course I added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
love this recipe andno fights to get our picky eater kids to eat it either. They came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I added 2 tbsl. of lemon juice, 4 cloves of garlic and I used fingerling potatoes instead. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Being a South African living in New Zealand I was delighted to come across this recipe. Reminds me of the cold winter afternoons spent making this in abundance to freeze for reheating. Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowfreeze_Sorbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Good recipe. Can be cooked in a covered cast-iron casserole inside the oven (Dutch Oven style). Add a few drops of lemon juice or (sour)clover leaves. (Zuuring in South Africa)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States