Tomato-Bread Salad with Basil and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
great way to use those homegrown tomatoes!! Easy and so ono.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe is so easy and flavorful. I didn't change the recipe at all. It tasted like something I would get at a trendy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made one small change...I added chunks of fresh mozarella just before serving. What a hit! I would recommend doubling this recipe...for four people I didn't have enough. So simple and soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I didn't have basil but I used cilantro instead. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was very good - unfortunately I found my bread was not only stale, but also moldy! So I added about 3 cups of baby spinach and made a breadless salad instead. Capers added a nice touch without being overpowering, and I liked the change from my usual balsamic to red wine vinegar. The only thing I did not do was salt the tomatoes as the instructions stated - they were juicy enough and I was concerned that the capers would lend too much saltiness to the salad. I ended up salting to taste near the end, adding a pinch of salt. Will definitely make again! (Next time WITH bread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this salad was awesome. I think it would have been good with chunks of chicken in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristi05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent summer salad! I drizzled the bread with evoo and sprinkled with basil and thyme before baking. I added cucumbers and mozzarella to make it a little more substantial. And I drizzled the dressing on before topping with the bread so it didn't soak it all up. Extremely satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SwissMiss
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
If you like bruschetta, you'll love this salad! Great as written or with the addition of a chopped cucumber or a can of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwissMiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made some changes but that is the beauty of this recipe, you can make it your own. Tossed the bread cubes with olive oil, salt, pepper and minced garlic before baking. The fresh tomatos and basil make this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
We've tried (and liked) other bread salad recipes from ar, but this was the first one with toasted bread and capers. Nice change. Yummy fresh. Added chopped seedless cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States