Tomato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!! I did make a few changes from reading the other ratings. I also substituted ingredients to use what I already had in the house. To save time, I didn't cook the garlic; I just grated it. I left out the green onions but put in green olives. I used mozzarella cheese instead of provolone. I also left out the shortening and oil from the tomatoes and used 1/4 cup olive oil as someone else suggested. You can pretty much do whatever you want and I think it will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made this gluten free... 1 1/2 c. Bobs (GF) all purpose flour* 1 c. Bobs rice flour* 1 tsp. Xanthan Gum* 1 1/4 tsp. sea salt 2 tsp baking powder 1/2 c. sun dried tomatoes 5 oz. cubed provolone 1 tsp. minced garlic 3/4 tsp. Pepper 2 Tbs. Shortening* 1/8 c. oil (I forgot to save it from tomatoes) 1/4 c. plain yogurt* 2 Tbs. Sugar 1 1/4 c. Buttermilk I basically followed the original instructions, just subbed the flour, removed a few ingredients I didnt have on hand and added a little moisture (extra shortening, yogurt) and xanthan gum. It turned out amazing. I had made this recipe before we were gluten free and loved it. This was honestly just as good. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Hmm, I was expecting this to be really great with the reviews. It just kind of reminded me of an Italian seasoned beer bread. I followed the advice of the reviewer Naples for the most part plus I left out the pine nuts because I didn't have any and subbed about a Tblsp. of minced onion for the green onion. I had a feeling with the ingredients that it would be similar to a beer type bread, but decided to give it a try anyway. It was sweet tasting, dry, and spices and flavorings just didn't go in my opinion. It really sounded interesting, but after a couple of slices it sat and got tossed, and I really dislike any food waste. There was nothing I could really turn it into with all of the spices, tomatoes, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Unbelievable! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Absolutely WONDERFUL! This recipe was very easy to follow, and produces a very delicious treat with Italian entrees. The loaf was colorful, flavorful, and I really wouldn't change a thing- it's quite perfect the way it is! Some observations: On the tomato instruction, I would add: "Diced, reserving oil for later"; and a descriptive word for the "batter". (Batter will be Thick, Lumpy, Like Dough, etc...) As I wasn't sure if it was the right consistency- mine did come out thick/ lumpy, but turned out PERFECT when baked in the stoneware breadpan! I also served it with seasoned Olive Oil for dipping- and it disappeared quickly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hockeystyx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made half of this recipe and used a mini loaf pan that I have which worked well. I did as the other reviewers, using olive oil, eyeballing the green onions and making a paste with the garlic and salt. I had high hopes for this bread, but frankly I was a little disappointed. It didn't quite have the pizzaz I was expecting. I'm thinking I would have liked it better with roasted red pepper rather than the sun-dried tomatoes, but then I guess it wouldn't be tomato bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
VERY GOOD! I also chose to replaced the shortening and reserved oil with olive oil. I opted not to boil the garlic and just grate it finely w/ my microplane and used asiago cheese instead of the provolone. This was simple to prepare and the house smelled amazing while it was baking. This bread did not disappoint~tasty, moist and delicious! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
While I do have some criticisms of the recipe itself, they so pale in comparison to the actual bread that I can't bring myself to dock this recipe a star for them. If the ingredients in this recipe appeal to you to begin with, you've GOT to make this bread. So, as the 1st reviewer, some helpful tips. I couldn't see boiling the garlic for 15 minutes. It wastes 15 minutes and it wastes a lot of garlic flavor into the water. So I mashed it with the salt called for with the back of my chef's knife into a paste. The pine nuts can be quickly toasted in the microwave - it just takes a minute or two. But here's my main criticism: the recipe directs you to include the oil you've drained off the tomatoes. Now how much is that? Waaay too vague and the amount of oil used could make or break this bread! So, rather than trying to guess at how much that should be and rather than the 2 T. shortening, I simply did away with both and used a quarter cup of olive oil and called it a day. It was perfect. I didn't have provolone so I used another semi-firm cheese, ricotta salata, and a couple of tablespoons of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano. A "bunch" of green onions is also vague, so I chopped up just the green part and added it to my liking. I threw in some black olives because I had some already opened and because I knew they'd be a great addition. Finally, I brushed the warm, baked bread with melted butter. Golden crust, hearty, dense and robustly flavorful - this bread is a beauty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States