Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I dont even like tomato soup but for some reason i really wanted to make this...followed recipe exact and loved it. like it beter the 2nd day than freshly made...isnt that the rule of tomato based stuff though? LOL definately recommend using a hand blender over pouring into regular blender...that was a mess....LOL dipped grilled cheese in there it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was wonderful. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper (some like it hot), and used celery greens in lieu of celery. It is just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Family Loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was wonderful! We left out the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. Will be added to our monthly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My son wasn't feeling well and wanted cream of tomato soup...the canned stuff. I remembered saving this recipe and decided to make it instead so he would be getting something healthy with chicken broth in it. The only modifications I made were 2 tbsp of sugar instead of 3 because I ran out and OMG, it was delicious! My son came downstairs because it smelled so good and then devoured two large bowls!! This was so easy and quick and now a staple in our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This has become a go-to lunch recipe for us. I usually half the recipe but still use one whole carrot and one entire stalk of celery. Also, I use half butter and half olive oil for cooking the veggies, and I use half and half or heavy cream interchangably depending on what's in the fridge. It's always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used olive oil to sauté veggies in first, and decided to only use 1 tbsp flour and 1 1/2 tsp sugar and half & half in place of heavy cream. Also, I used 1/8 tsp nutmeg because some people commented it was a little strong in the recipe, and added some fresh basil. It turned out very good and I'm definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great texture and flavour! I tried to omit the sugar, but it really needed it. Don't add your cream in all at once. If I'd added and tasted, I would have used a little less for a stronger tomato flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This didn't turn out as good as I had hoped for. I followed the recipe to a T with a few minor exceptions: I replaced about half of the butter with olive oil, I browned the tomato paste in the pot with a little more olive oil before adding the liquids, I only used 2 tablespoonfuls of sugar and finally I didn't add any heavy cream but instead added a teaspoon or so of sour cream to each bowl of the finished product. My biggest issue was with the mirepoix. I ran all the vegetable thru a chopper until they were a fine mince and cooked them thoroughly and then after boiling I used a slotted spoon to remove some of the diced tomatoes before I took an immersion blender to the finished product. Unfortunately that finished product tasted more like carrot and celery soup than tomato. I know I used what I would consider a pretty normal sized carrot and considerably less than a full stock of celery to start with but obviously that was way too much. For my next attempt I think I'll see if I can find a recipe that omits the carrots & celery altogether. Overall it was OK but fell far short of what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was simple, delicious, elegant and pretty. What more could you ask for on a -15 degree Wisconsin day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States