Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
WONDERFUL! This is a definite 5 star tomato soup. I only wish I could have found the fire roasted diced tomatoes; I had to use plain diced tomatoes. I added some italian seasoning to give it more spice. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This recipe is a keeper and will see a lot of use at our house. Thank you Sweetjam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is my recipe and I hope you like it. The only thing I would tweak would be the amount of nutmeg. I would use a pinch. I use fresh and usually give it a couple of cranks on the grinder. Also, the cream is optional the soup is just as good without it if you want to watch the calories. Finally, if you have an immersion blender that is the easiest way to make the soup less chunky. My kids love this with a grill cheese sandwich and it comes together fast. I hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have fire roasted tomatoes, so I used one can of regular diced and one can of rotel and turned it into a spicy tomato bisque. I used evap. milk instead of the cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is one of the best soups I've ever had and my husband loved it as well. Perfect for those chilly days when you want something to help warm you up. The nutmeg and fire roasted tomatoes definitely make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
For those that are having trouble finding "fire roasted diced tomatoes" I found them in the healthy/organic section of our grocery store. I however went the cheaper route and used zesty diced tomatoes with green chilis. Probably one can of that and one of regular would be good because it was a little spicy, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Fantastic! I left out the nutmeg and the sour cream, and pureed the entire mixture. The result was smooth, creamy, and exactly the kind of tomato soup I've been trying to make for years! I served this with grilled cheese sandwiches, and every bite was gone in minutes. Awesome recipe, and so easy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is the best tomatoe bisque I have ever tasted. I'll be craving this the next time I'm under-the-weather. I used a little extra nutmeg, heavy cream, tomatoe paste (whole can) and white pepper. I serve with grilled-cheese using "Honey Wheat Bread I."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Beautifully done, SWEETJAM! I love the unexpected nutmeg (I used lots) and the smokiness of the fire-roasted tomatoes. I made a double batch of this because I'm clever. I didn't put the cream in the soup, but lightly whipped it and added it as a garnish - along with fresh basil and bacon. Knocked some socks off! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Terrific tomato soup! Very simple to make. I made according to the recipe, except that I was out of tomato paste. It still tasted great. My 10 year old daughter helped make it, and she also loved it. We served with a sprinkle of shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States