Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! We had only 1 can of fire-roasted tomatoes left from our last trip to the States, the other was plain diced. Also, used milk rather than cream. Healthier. Still rich and awesome! Will make as soon as we can get our hands on more fire-roasted tomatoes! Could be a while...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Mmm Mmm good? It was better than that! I've been looking for a recipe like this for a while, and am glad I found this one. I don't like tomato soup that comes from a can. And this was really good. I made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of one thing. I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground red pepper at the end, for a little bit of heat. Just a personal preference. Either way, this one's a winner! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRYG58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellent soup! I'm not really big on tomato soup, but this is fantastic! Even my husband loved it...he was even bragging about it at work the next day! Next time I will double it so we have plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe!! I did make a few changes, due to ingredients I had in the pantry! I used petite diced tomatoes instead, and half & half. Also, I had just run out of nutmeg, so I added basil and italian seasoning for the spice. Served this with some grilled cheese, and it made for a wonderful lunch on a cold fall afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made changes based on recipes I've had success with in the past. First, I didn't add butter but used olive oil; next, no sugar; then, I halved, seeded and left unpeeled 16 plum tomatoes, sprinkled olive oil over and slow roasted for 2 hours in the oven to concentrate the flavor. Unroasted, the plums have very little sweet flavor, but roasted brings out the starches, which are more abundant than round tomatoes and really develop in the roasting process. I added a little dry sherry (about 2 Tbsps.), and left out the cream. Before serving, I added a dollop of sweet Devonshire cream to each filled bowl. All the spices were right on and I wouldn't have normally used nutmeg, so thanks! It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is the best tomato bisque! I followed the reciped but I didn't have any nutmeg-I can't wait to try it with nutmeg! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I loved it! It reminds me of Paradise tomato soup. Even my 5 yr old liked dipping his grilled cheese into it. And he never likes ANY soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! The only changes I made were to include the juice from the diced tomatoes, I put in a handful of basil in the end, and pureed the entire batch. I also put 1/2 cup of half and half. The results were phenomenal will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It was wonderful! I added an extra carrot and added a whole pint of cream. Next time I will puree the whole batch. I did add the nutmeg. This definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very good soup. I left out the nutmeg because I'm not a fan of that spice, but my family really liked this soup along with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States