Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is my recipe and I hope you like it. The only thing I would tweak would be the amount of nutmeg. I would use a pinch. I use fresh and usually give it a couple of cranks on the grinder. Also, the cream is optional the soup is just as good without it if you want to watch the calories. Finally, if you have an immersion blender that is the easiest way to make the soup less chunky. My kids love this with a grill cheese sandwich and it comes together fast. I hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Delicious - WITHOUT the flour and without the sugar. Not only is neither necessary, but I believe the soup is better without them both. The soup is sweet enough, thick enough, as is. To be on the safe side I erred on the side of caution and used only half the amount of nutmeg called for and was happy with that - certainly better than had I added too much and hated it! Rather than the canned tomatoes (which would be wonderful too!) I used tomatoes I had put up from my garden. I also added what might be one of the last times I'll get to use fresh chopped parsley and basil from my garden. Since I scaled this down to two servings I wasn't about to open a carton of heavy cream for a mere two tablespoons, and the half and half I used instead was just fine. This was brilliant red, intensely tomato-y and incredibly fresh tasting. Along with "Club Sandwich Salad," also from this site, it was a tasty, nutritious and satisfying soup and salad supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Beautifully done, SWEETJAM! I love the unexpected nutmeg (I used lots) and the smokiness of the fire-roasted tomatoes. I made a double batch of this because I'm clever. I didn't put the cream in the soup, but lightly whipped it and added it as a garnish - along with fresh basil and bacon. Knocked some socks off! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Fantastic! I left out the nutmeg and the sour cream, and pureed the entire mixture. The result was smooth, creamy, and exactly the kind of tomato soup I've been trying to make for years! I served this with grilled cheese sandwiches, and every bite was gone in minutes. Awesome recipe, and so easy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
For those that are having trouble finding "fire roasted diced tomatoes" I found them in the healthy/organic section of our grocery store. I however went the cheaper route and used zesty diced tomatoes with green chilis. Probably one can of that and one of regular would be good because it was a little spicy, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe close to a dozen times. I make it pretty much as is, though I only use 2 tablespoons sugar, leave out the cream, and garnish it with fresh chopped basil. Everyone who tries it claims it's the best tomato soup they've ever tried. Using an inexpensive immersion blender is far easier than transferring to a regular blender. Great recipe, the nutmeg is a must! A big thank you to the recipe creator for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I used a whole 6 ounce can of tomato paste and a little more cream, but this was divine! I served this with cheesy bread (a baguette halved and cut into 4ths with butter, garlic powder, and shredded mozzarella in the oven at 425 degrees until browned and bubbly), which would also make good cheese croutons for this soup if you cut it into bite-sized squares. As an FYI, the Muir Glen brand of organic canned fire-roasted tomatoes does not contain BPA in the lining as many other brands do. The acidity of tomatoes causes the thin plastic lining they use in cans to leach BPA, making it one of the strongest sources of leached BPA in foods. So it's good to buy Muir Glen if you can find it, especially if you have little ones at home like I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Erring on the side of caution, I started small with the fat/flour ratio, 1 Tbs each, which did initially produce a lumpy roux, but nothing the all mighty immersion blender couldn't smooth out. And even with less sugar, this bisque was tomato-ey sweet using canned diced tomatoes. Stirring in a splash of half and half and light grating of fresh nutmeg completed this bisque, which came together super-fast and was waaay better than that gloppy canned stuff. Thanks so much SWEETJAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was very good. I didn't like the idea of the cream so I omitted it and it turned out to be a nice, rich tomato soup. I also omitted the flour, as it thickens up beautifully with the tomato paste and other ingredients. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My husband is still raving about this three months later. It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States