Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Great recipe!! I did make a few changes, due to ingredients I had in the pantry! I used petite diced tomatoes instead, and half & half. Also, I had just run out of nutmeg, so I added basil and italian seasoning for the spice. Served this with some grilled cheese, and it made for a wonderful lunch on a cold fall afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made changes based on recipes I've had success with in the past. First, I didn't add butter but used olive oil; next, no sugar; then, I halved, seeded and left unpeeled 16 plum tomatoes, sprinkled olive oil over and slow roasted for 2 hours in the oven to concentrate the flavor. Unroasted, the plums have very little sweet flavor, but roasted brings out the starches, which are more abundant than round tomatoes and really develop in the roasting process. I added a little dry sherry (about 2 Tbsps.), and left out the cream. Before serving, I added a dollop of sweet Devonshire cream to each filled bowl. All the spices were right on and I wouldn't have normally used nutmeg, so thanks! It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is the best tomato bisque! I followed the reciped but I didn't have any nutmeg-I can't wait to try it with nutmeg! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I loved it! It reminds me of Paradise tomato soup. Even my 5 yr old liked dipping his grilled cheese into it. And he never likes ANY soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! The only changes I made were to include the juice from the diced tomatoes, I put in a handful of basil in the end, and pureed the entire batch. I also put 1/2 cup of half and half. The results were phenomenal will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It was wonderful! I added an extra carrot and added a whole pint of cream. Next time I will puree the whole batch. I did add the nutmeg. This definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very good soup. I left out the nutmeg because I'm not a fan of that spice, but my family really liked this soup along with a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I would've liked for this to be creamier, but otherwise very tasty. It probably could've benefited from some more seasoning like basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Outstanding!!! A wonderful soup to serve for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used a pinch of ground cinnamon as opposed to the nutmeg (too expensive at my local grocery store!). I also skipped the blender step (I like it a bit chunkier, even if it defeats the purpose of making a bisque :)). I served it with grilled cheese. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States