Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wonderful smooth taste, with many subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willcox, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This came out very nicely. I was concerned about the calories, so I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I think it would have been even better with heavy cream! Next time, to cut down on the calories, I'll use only 2 tablespoons of butter (instead of the 1/4 cup the recipe calls for), but use heavy cream. I also read some reviews that suggested there was no need for flour or sugar, so instead of adding 3 tablespoons, I did 1 tablespoon flour and 1 teaspoon sugar and I think that was enough. 3 tablespoons of sugar would probably make the soup too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Delicious - WITHOUT the flour and without the sugar. Not only is neither necessary, but I believe the soup is better without them both. The soup is sweet enough, thick enough, as is. To be on the safe side I erred on the side of caution and used only half the amount of nutmeg called for and was happy with that - certainly better than had I added too much and hated it! Rather than the canned tomatoes (which would be wonderful too!) I used tomatoes I had put up from my garden. I also added what might be one of the last times I'll get to use fresh chopped parsley and basil from my garden. Since I scaled this down to two servings I wasn't about to open a carton of heavy cream for a mere two tablespoons, and the half and half I used instead was just fine. This was brilliant red, intensely tomato-y and incredibly fresh tasting. Along with "Club Sandwich Salad," also from this site, it was a tasty, nutritious and satisfying soup and salad supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this soup last night for a dinner party. It was a huge hit! I like a smooth consistency so I simmered the soup for nearly 2 hours to meld everything together and also added one russet potato, again for consistency more than anything (and who doesn't love potato). As a result, I reduced the amount of flour by one tablespoon. I then used the immersion blender to have a smooth, creamy consistency. This was an outstanding recipe and went extremely well with dinner (mustard crusted chicken, steamed broccoli with a gruyere cheese sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmitch9393

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I only made half, but it was so good I should have made the whole amount. I only had pureed tomatoes, and added a drop of liquid smoke for the flavor. Because they were pureed ( and Im a good dicer ) I skipped the blender. I also substituted two lovage leaves ( wild celery)for the chopped celery. I prefer the stronger flavor. Its not too classy, but I couldn't go without cheddar goldfish on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otter Creek, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This soup had good flavor and I had a craving for this despite the fact that it was 100 degrees outside. The only problem I had was the flour lumping up when I added the liquids so I had to blend it all to get rid of them; I was worried that might happen; no one else complained about that and maybe I'm still a little inexpereinced here but I just wonder why it wasn't thickened at the end like most soups. I used a can of tomato sauce which I simmered a while to thicken since I had no paste... Over all I really loved it and after blending it I chopped up more carrot very fine and let them simmer a few minutes so the soup had some texture.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is one of our favorites! It's as close as I've ever come to my husband's idea of "how Mom used to make it" (it's SO much better than his mom's, but I won't tell if you won't). I leave out the celery, just because I don't care for it, and have occasionally used condensed milk instead of cream with equally good results. I also do not puree because we like our soup chunky (and because I don't like washing the food processor). Making "Just like Mom's" (ha!) tomato bisque tonight as a Father's Day treat for my husband. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Delicious and super easy.....used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the heavy cream.... served with California Grilled Veggie Sandwich....Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious soup, very similar to that sold at Whole Foods. Didn't have a carrot so left it out, used vegetarian "unchicken" boullion and water rather than ck stock, didn't drain the tomatoes, and added 1/2c 2% milk rather than 1/4c cream. Garnished with croutons and fresh basil and served with crusty bread. Fabulous easy weekend lunch on a windy spring day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This soup is absolutely amazing! I didn't have to modify it one bit. Everyone at my dinner party positively raved about this soup. I'm so glad I made a double batch - we froze some for a future dinner. Still tasted awesome after frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States