Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Reminds me of the tomato bisque I had at a restaurant. I made a "healthy" version with olive oil instead of butter and whole milk + some butter instead of heavy cream. Still very good. Am sure the real thing would be even better. It is a little on the sweet side. Next time, I would put less sugar than the 3 tbsp called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Since I found this recipe I have been using it as a base for a couple different dishes and it's been fantastic every time! I used tomatos from the garden to make 1 to 2 cups of fresh sauce instead of tomato paste, it gave extra volume but the taste was still great. I don't care for nutmeg so I never used it, but everyone who's tasted it has been really impressed. Once I added oregano and basil, for that I chopped up zucchini and mixed it with some small cubes of mozzerella (or brick) and cooked ground italian sausage... poured the soup on as a sauce mixed it up a bit and baked it... It's now a family favorite! Also used this recipes to make a yummy chicken tortilla soup... just add chicken, maybe some corn, and used cumin, cayenne and paprika for seasoning... another family favorite!! Thank you for posting this recipe my family has been loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It is an excellent recipe. I just preferred to used real tomatoes, left out the nutmeg, only put 3 tsp of white sugar. I also put an extra TBSP of flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this for a soup and sandwich dinner and it was great! I didn’t have fire roasted tomatoes, so instead I used some Roma tomatoes I’d frozen from last year’s garden. I decreased the sugar – I would recommend that you add it to taste, and I omitted the nutmeg as I’m not a fan at all. I used my emersion blender, which really makes this easy. I planned to freeze the leftovers, so I didn’t add the cream. Then, when reheating the portion I was serving that night, I forgot to add it! LOL! Well, I can tell you that this was still great without the cream. So, when you’re hungry for tomato soup with a grilled cheese sandwich, give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I love this recipe. My only suggestion would be to use 1 less Tbs. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody Winnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe, it turned out delicious and my boyfriend loved it. I would just omit the nutmeg part though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at a tomato bisque. It turned out beautifully. I didn't have nutmeg, so I used basil instead. My boyfriend and I loved the little bit of kick the fire roasted tomatoes adds. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Erring on the side of caution, I started small with the fat/flour ratio, 1 Tbs each, which did initially produce a lumpy roux, but nothing the all mighty immersion blender couldn't smooth out. And even with less sugar, this bisque was tomato-ey sweet using canned diced tomatoes. Stirring in a splash of half and half and light grating of fresh nutmeg completed this bisque, which came together super-fast and was waaay better than that gloppy canned stuff. Thanks so much SWEETJAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I brought this to a faculty lunch and the teachers all liked it and ate at least one bowl. After lunch, though, I took the leftovers to my next class and let the students finish it. They ate it - hey, they are teenagers - but I got several comments that it smelled and tasted like chef boyardee and one girl scrunched up her face and said "it's sweet". I had thought that it called for too much sugar, so I had even added less sugar. I liked it but I will cut back even more on the sugar if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wonderful smooth taste, with many subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willcox, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States