Tomato Bisque III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This has become a go-to lunch recipe for us. I usually half the recipe but still use one whole carrot and one entire stalk of celery. Also, I use half butter and half olive oil for cooking the veggies, and I use half and half or heavy cream interchangably depending on what's in the fridge. It's always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used olive oil to sauté veggies in first, and decided to only use 1 tbsp flour and 1 1/2 tsp sugar and half & half in place of heavy cream. Also, I used 1/8 tsp nutmeg because some people commented it was a little strong in the recipe, and added some fresh basil. It turned out very good and I'm definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great texture and flavour! I tried to omit the sugar, but it really needed it. Don't add your cream in all at once. If I'd added and tasted, I would have used a little less for a stronger tomato flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This didn't turn out as good as I had hoped for. I followed the recipe to a T with a few minor exceptions: I replaced about half of the butter with olive oil, I browned the tomato paste in the pot with a little more olive oil before adding the liquids, I only used 2 tablespoonfuls of sugar and finally I didn't add any heavy cream but instead added a teaspoon or so of sour cream to each bowl of the finished product. My biggest issue was with the mirepoix. I ran all the vegetable thru a chopper until they were a fine mince and cooked them thoroughly and then after boiling I used a slotted spoon to remove some of the diced tomatoes before I took an immersion blender to the finished product. Unfortunately that finished product tasted more like carrot and celery soup than tomato. I know I used what I would consider a pretty normal sized carrot and considerably less than a full stock of celery to start with but obviously that was way too much. For my next attempt I think I'll see if I can find a recipe that omits the carrots & celery altogether. Overall it was OK but fell far short of what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was simple, delicious, elegant and pretty. What more could you ask for on a -15 degree Wisconsin day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Fantastic. We had it with a simple salad and it filled us up. It definitely doesn't need the cream because it is already incredibly creamy on its own. I added about 2 tsp of salt, and half a tsp of cayenne pepper for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was delicious and the whole family loved it. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Love it! I made it exactly the way the recipe says. I served it with a fresh salad and a hearty bread. My boyfriend of two years said this was the type of meal that makes a man want to marry a woman. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I used a whole 6 ounce can of tomato paste and a little more cream, but this was divine! I served this with cheesy bread (a baguette halved and cut into 4ths with butter, garlic powder, and shredded mozzarella in the oven at 425 degrees until browned and bubbly), which would also make good cheese croutons for this soup if you cut it into bite-sized squares. As an FYI, the Muir Glen brand of organic canned fire-roasted tomatoes does not contain BPA in the lining as many other brands do. The acidity of tomatoes causes the thin plastic lining they use in cans to leach BPA, making it one of the strongest sources of leached BPA in foods. So it's good to buy Muir Glen if you can find it, especially if you have little ones at home like I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was so delicious! I omitted the heavy cream and used avocado oil instead of butter. My husband loved it! You definitely don't need the cream, it's great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States