Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
We thought this recipe was excellent. I used canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh and 2% milk. It's also even better if you add a little more fresh pepper and sprinkle parmesan cheese over the top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This soup was wonderful. I did not have fresh tomatoes so I used (2) large cans of crushed tomatoes and a can of petite diced tomatoes. I also used half & half. It tasted like something from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
great receipe! comes in handy for that last bunch of tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Very good. However, I did not use fresh tomatoes. Too much work. I used 2-16oz cans of diced tomatoes and 1- 16 oz can of tomato sauce. Also, make sure you use whole milk or half and half, 2% / skim won't cut it. I also bumped up the sugar to cut the sharpness. Turned out to be thick and creamy, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
A mighty fine soup. It's really good on it's own or with some crusty french bread to dip in it. I make it exactly as it says to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Loved It!! I may never buy canned tomato soup again. I used two large cans of crushed tomatoes (processed 1 can in the food processor). I used 3 cups of 1% milk and 1 cup of whipping cream. I also added more sugar, basil and threw in some garlic. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
The first time the only thing I changed was to use fresh basil. I only had 2% milk and it was GREAT. Then I tried using canned tomatoes and it was almost exactly the same! Made it with grilled cheese using cheddar & baguettes and it was the best grilled cheese and tomato soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I made this for 30 people and though I was making other items this was fairly easy with a food processor. I also added about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder. Everyone raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
We used fresh basil in the soup base and fresh parmesean on top of individual bowls of soup. Also used 50/50 skim milk and half-and-half. The tomatoes were not pureed. It was a very tasty and rich soup. What are the proportions for the roux if you can the base ahead of time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very good soup. I added oregano and about 1/3 cup red wine. Works just as well with canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States