Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I have made this several times and it is really, REALLY good. I have played around with it using half-and-half sometimes and cream others. I prefer using cream, because I like it creamy. I would definitely recommend using at least whole milk, and not going below that. Otherwise, it would be too watery, and not at all like a true Bisque. Also, I use canned tomatoes. Two 28 cans work perfectly. Last night I used crushed tomatoes, because it was what I had, and the boyfriend loved the bits of tomato, but I have also used tomato sauce, and I think I prefer the smoothness of it. Either way, it is a fantastic recipe, and fun to play with. It seems to come out great however you manipulate the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Very good. However, I did not use fresh tomatoes. Too much work. I used 2-16oz cans of diced tomatoes and 1- 16 oz can of tomato sauce. Also, make sure you use whole milk or half and half, 2% / skim won't cut it. I also bumped up the sugar to cut the sharpness. Turned out to be thick and creamy, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This soup was wonderful. I did not have fresh tomatoes so I used (2) large cans of crushed tomatoes and a can of petite diced tomatoes. I also used half & half. It tasted like something from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bostoncook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I love, love this recipe! I do not have a food mill, so I peeled and seeded the tomatoes, then used my hand blender to puree. So good, thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
We thought this recipe was excellent. I used canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh and 2% milk. It's also even better if you add a little more fresh pepper and sprinkle parmesan cheese over the top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Loved It!! I may never buy canned tomato soup again. I used two large cans of crushed tomatoes (processed 1 can in the food processor). I used 3 cups of 1% milk and 1 cup of whipping cream. I also added more sugar, basil and threw in some garlic. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Excellent! I made this the day before I hosted a luncheon, then reheated the soup in a covered soup pot (as in a ceramic pot with a lid) inside the oven. I think it tasted better the day I served it, since the flavors had 24 hours to blend nicely. Had some soup left over, it freezes well. Used canned tomatoes, but want to try fresh next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuperbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This bisque is fabulous!! I also used canned tomatoes plus a can of petite diced for texture. I would also recommend adding more sugar, and salt & pepper to taste. I also added a bit more dried basil, oregano, and some onion powder for a kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
AMAZING! I had so many tomatoes left this fall that I really wanted to try and use them up. This is the perfect way to do it. I'm not sure how the taste of canned tomatoes compares, but it does take a bit of extra work to use fresh. I'll assure you if you do the work, you can't go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer LeGare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! Taking the advice of several reviews this turned out excellent. I followed the basic recipe but used 3 cans of the 14.5 oz. diced tomatos that included basil, garlic & oregano. Secondly I used 2 1/2 C of whole milk and 1 1/2 C skim milk. I also added more dried basil, oregano, celery seed and minced garlic. For that extra kick as suggested I added some ground cayenne pepper. All of the extras were not measured. That is the great thing about this recipe, it allows you to play with different seasonings according to your taste. My husband also added a bit of tabasco sauce because he likes it extra spicy. I added a bit of parmesan to my bowl. I cooked it longer than the suggested time after adding the milk portion to the recipe, the longer it cooked the thicker it got. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States