Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great recipe! Followed others suggestions and used canned crushed tomatoes, fresh basil instead of dry. I also added about three quarters of a bag of fresh spinach that I chopped. Sprinkled with goat cheese before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delicious! I used about 5 fresh tomatoes and a can of diced, pureed it all in my Ninja. This recipe is delicious, we did need to add a bit more salt and pepper but other than that was perfect. Served with a toasted sandwich on a cold day, perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I also followed other reviewer suggestions to substitute 2-28 oz. cans of petite diced tomatoes (=3.5 lbs.) for the the 2 lbs. of tomatoes. More bouillon, basil, sugar, & pepper are needed for the extra tomatoes. However, I used less salt--taste it first before adding. This soup is great with the extra tomatoes. It is a really rich recipe, and I will use less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Thanks, it's just what I was looking for. I've been making it using my frozen whole tomatoes from this past summer's garden. Best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I took another reviewer's advice and used 2 16 oz cans of diced tomatoes and 1 16 oz can of tomato sauce. (Sorry but stewing the tomatoes sounded way too complicated). I also made the roux first then just dumped the rest of the ingredients in so I didn't have to dirty 2 pans. ;o) It was DELISH. Will be a regular in my house - very easy and quick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have made this several times. I highly recommend using fresh basil (2T) instead of dried. Using 2 - 28oz. crushed tomatoes instead of fresh tastes just as good. I used 1/4 tsp. garlic powder for just a hint of garlic taste. Also, for a true bisque like taste, wisk in 5oz of cream cheese in your milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was so easy to make. I took my heirloom tomatoes out of the freezer and blanched them so the skin peels off easily. I added some fresh garlic to the tomato mixture. We like the soup a bit creamy so I added some extra flour to the butter milk mixture. Turned out fabulous. Hubby and I just enjoyed this wonderful dish. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mum's The Baking Secret

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was a perfect fall meal. I live in an area where I cannot get canned tomatoes, so this recipe was a big help! I actually diced the tomatoes and put everything in the pot (seeds, skin and all) and then blended it up with my hand blender after the tomatoes were cooked. I used less butter and I didn't have a bayleaf. I used skim milk and added a teaspoon of dried basil. Because of all the changes I made to the recipe, I give it 4 stars. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My husband and I just went to a restuarant and he had this soup. He asked me to find a recipe for it and I found this one. I cheated and used canned tomatoes and followed the directions. We loved it except for my husband of course wanted it a little chunkier but I loved it. It was a little acidy so I found out I could use baking soda (sparingly 1/8 tsp at a time) to cut the tart the sugar only changed the flavor. I also used heavy cream instead of milk. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
my husbands favorite soup now! I increased the amount of basil. I always just use two large cans of crushed tomatoes. Ive made this a ton of times and it always impresses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States