Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have made this several times. I highly recommend using fresh basil (2T) instead of dried. Using 2 - 28oz. crushed tomatoes instead of fresh tastes just as good. I used 1/4 tsp. garlic powder for just a hint of garlic taste. Also, for a true bisque like taste, wisk in 5oz of cream cheese in your milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was so easy to make. I took my heirloom tomatoes out of the freezer and blanched them so the skin peels off easily. I added some fresh garlic to the tomato mixture. We like the soup a bit creamy so I added some extra flour to the butter milk mixture. Turned out fabulous. Hubby and I just enjoyed this wonderful dish. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mum's The Baking Secret

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was a perfect fall meal. I live in an area where I cannot get canned tomatoes, so this recipe was a big help! I actually diced the tomatoes and put everything in the pot (seeds, skin and all) and then blended it up with my hand blender after the tomatoes were cooked. I used less butter and I didn't have a bayleaf. I used skim milk and added a teaspoon of dried basil. Because of all the changes I made to the recipe, I give it 4 stars. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My husband and I just went to a restuarant and he had this soup. He asked me to find a recipe for it and I found this one. I cheated and used canned tomatoes and followed the directions. We loved it except for my husband of course wanted it a little chunkier but I loved it. It was a little acidy so I found out I could use baking soda (sparingly 1/8 tsp at a time) to cut the tart the sugar only changed the flavor. I also used heavy cream instead of milk. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
my husbands favorite soup now! I increased the amount of basil. I always just use two large cans of crushed tomatoes. Ive made this a ton of times and it always impresses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Rellay good Sprinkling it with graded Parmasan makes it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This bisque turned out absolutely amazing! I omitted the bay leaf and used chopped fresh basil towards the end of cooking, and substituted non-fat half and half for the milk. Wow, this was just so yummy! My boyfriend (not the biggest fan of tomatoes) thought it was delicious as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheWanderer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Yum! So easy! I was craving a tomato bisque to go with the poppyseed ciabatta rolls I got from the bakery this morning. I happened to have just enough tomatoes from the garden to make one serving of the soup, and added a little bit of tomato juice I had in the fridge. Perfect lunch for this cool fall day! Served with a glass of cherry mint iced tea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe is the best. I have made the soup at least 8 times since getting the recipe. I have added my own twists. Easy, cheap and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States