Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
If I could, I would give this 10 stars. I made it for my husband and myself last night, and he gave it rave reviews. The main thing that I changed was that I did not skin and seed the tomatoes at all. I just pureed them in my trusty blender before cooking and everything went really quickly. Also, I used whole milk which made it super creamy without being *soooo* heavy like cream. It was fantastic. I think what sets this soup apart from run-of-the-mill tomato soup is the fact that it's not super acidic. Instead it's silky smooth and rich - the beef stock also helps with this. My husband already asked when I can make this again! :) Thanks Judy for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Joy Burkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was soooo tasty! Like many others I used canned stewed tomatoes and I didn't have any beef bouillon so I used some steak marinade instead to give it that robust flavor. It worked! Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Absolutely restaurant quality! Actually this is better than I've had at a restaurant. Made it for 50 people last weekend. Everyone wants the recipe. I even did this substituting spray margarine (liquid) for the butter and it still tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes as below in another review. This was easy and good. I used a little cream added to milk. I can see why this would be a good thing to put up and keep in storage but its easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very tasty!!! I did not used fresh tomatoes. Used 2 - 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes. Also, I sauteed some minced garlic with the butter when I made the roux. No other changes needed. Definitely try some parmesan and croutons on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good. I halved the recipe for just two of us, and it was even better than I expected. I didn't have fresh home-grown tomatoes on hand (it is Feb), so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 small can of tomato sauce. Also, regardless of what others recommended, I was perfectly happy using skim milk. It may not have been completely bisque-like the way I made it, but it was very tasty anyway. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Used 28 oz can of puree & 16 oz can of sauce & 1 qu heavy whipping cream. Too easy! The kids LOVED it with their grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
modified based on what i had on hand. started with a pint of half and half, then added milk till i had a quart. doubled the sugar. i had no bay leaves, so i used 1/4 teaspoon of oregano. oh and 2 - 15oz cans of tomato sauce. all in all, not too shabby since it was made with what i had on hand. i'll prolly make it the same way again. great with some grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevelopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DdAyWeN
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
after reading the recommendations, I used half and half and the cans of crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes...it turned out wonderful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DdAyWeN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States