Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good. I halved the recipe for just two of us, and it was even better than I expected. I didn't have fresh home-grown tomatoes on hand (it is Feb), so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 small can of tomato sauce. Also, regardless of what others recommended, I was perfectly happy using skim milk. It may not have been completely bisque-like the way I made it, but it was very tasty anyway. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Used 28 oz can of puree & 16 oz can of sauce & 1 qu heavy whipping cream. Too easy! The kids LOVED it with their grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
modified based on what i had on hand. started with a pint of half and half, then added milk till i had a quart. doubled the sugar. i had no bay leaves, so i used 1/4 teaspoon of oregano. oh and 2 - 15oz cans of tomato sauce. all in all, not too shabby since it was made with what i had on hand. i'll prolly make it the same way again. great with some grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevelopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DdAyWeN
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
after reading the recommendations, I used half and half and the cans of crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes...it turned out wonderful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DdAyWeN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I wanted a homemade tomato. The canned versions are too sweet. This was perfect. I took others advice and used canned tomatoes, diced and stewed. Didn't have beef bouillon, so I used chicken stock I had on had. I didn't use the flour and only used a cup of FF half & half. I also cooked this in a crockpot on low for 4 hours. I added the half & half in the serving bowl. It was absolutely delish. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great soup, just finished eating it for lunch. I subbed the tomatoes for 1 28 oz. can of crushed, and two 14.5 cans of petite diced, and it turned out delicious. I have no idea how this would be 4 servings, I'll be surprised if I get less than 6 generous servings out of it. It'll make for great lunches this week, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Our class tested several recipes. This one everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is the first dish I've made on Allrecipes! Well, I want to give 3 stars, but that wouldnt be fair for several reasons. For one, our tomatos havent come in yet, so i used tinned ones, somthing the reviewers warned against. For another, I thought the tomato taste was WAY to strong, but that's my fault for following a reviewers advise and letting it simmer for four hours. Also, where i wanted to have a few sips and throw the rest in the sink, my friend had two bowls. So while it wasnt good enough for me personally to give it another go, it more then likey somthing due more to my own tastes then the recipes integrity. I used: 10 bay leaves, 2 cans of Tomatos one large can (850) ml of Tomato juice 1 cup of heavy cream 1/2 a cup of butter + four hours of simmering the tomatos and juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macarthur, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I opted to use cream instead of milk, as one reviewer had recommended, but this was a mistake. I can tell that the bisque has a great flavor, but it's overwhelmed by the cream. It's a little to thick, and I had to add dye to make it look a little more appealing. I'm going to try it with milk the next time, and I'm willing to bet it will be way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Fantastic Recipe! This recipe is my first attempt at making Soup, and I have to say, this is super easy, and incredibly delicious. A few suggestions: a) Use canned tomatoes (Peeling them is waaay too time consuming... I learned that the hard way) b) Make 2 batches in 1, to get all your soup making for the week out of the way c) Substitute in a fraction of fat-free creamer instead of milk to thicken a little d) Use light butter instead of real regular butter (I use Country Crock Light) e) Add chopped garlic f) Instead of reducing over the stove, blend the tomatoes in a blender! Saves a lot of time. Happy Soup Making :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marrtian

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States