Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe makes quite a bit more soup than I expected. I would say it makes closer to 6-7 cups sized servings of soup than 4 servings. I am accustomed to using the soup mode on my blender, so I just mixed all the ingredients in it until it was hot. I didn't add the bay leaf because it is normally an ingredient that gets taken out of the soup before blended. I also couldn't fit the last cup of milk in my blender. After tasting the soup, I thought it was too thin and rather bland. I adjusted the seasonings adding some garlic powder, onion powder, and a pinch or so more basil. I used 1% milk and butter with olive oil. That may have been part of it being thinner, don't know, because I left out a full cup of milk. I decided to tweak it to give it more flavor. I turned my bowl into a blt soup, by garnishing it with real bacon bits and a shredded cheddar blend. That greatly improved the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
My dad is on a no salt diet, he loves soup and you can not find very many low salt or no salt foods out there in the stores. Mom and I have learned to can, this is one of our favorite soup recipes. We dont have a food mill so I skin the tomatoes and run them threw the blender. This recipe is quick, easy, healthy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Outstanding! This is a no-fail tomato bisque soup. I used fresh tomatoes - because I had them and have this thing about canned food when fresh is available - and substituted organic white whole wheat flour. This was very hearty with chunky tomato bits for some attitude and a cream base. I stuck to the recipe, but could see maybe adding a little garnish for guests, just to dress it up a little. Other than that, this is a wonderful soup, elegant. Also, I learned how to properly seed and peel tomatoes! Time consuming but a worthwhile culinary skill, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I tried the recipe twice and I love it!! Very easy. I uses the Hunts Canned Whole Peeled tomatoes. I attempted to remove some of the seeds, but didn't mind it so much. However, I didn't like the consistency of the soup or the look of it after the I poured in the milk mixutre. So I used the blender to puree it (in batches) and it came out creamier, and it looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love this recipe for the winter! I really didn't change much at all. I only made half (cooking for just one) the recipe. I used 1 28oz box of crushed (low sodium, organic) tomatos, and every thing else was proportional. It was great and super easy. I had it for dinner with a slice of quiche....can't beat that for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used 2 28-oz. cans plus 1 14.5-oz can, undrained diced tomatoes. I also used 1/2 cup flour instead of 1/3, and skim milk, and the thickness was fine. Agree with all the other reviewers that all the seasonings should be increased. My result was thick and delicious! Fast & easy - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvaJane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This soup is fantastic! I bought some tomatoes out of season that were more orange than red along with some medium sized cherry type tomatoes and it still turned out super tasty. I was so impressed, I sent it to a couple of friends to try which I've never done before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've tried the original recipe and thought it was okay. When I decided to make it again I did tweak it a bit by doubling the bouillon cubes. I also used half the amount of butter and about 1/3 cup of half and half instead of milk and added some crushed red peppers. It was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I fresh roasted tomatoes & onions and then put them in a blender to dice- seeds & skin. I also added a jar of fire roasted red peppers and subbed a cup of half & half for a cup of the milk. It turned out delicious!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I was a bit discouraged with the results from this recipe. Guess I was expecting something with a little more tomato flavor. Being short on whole tomatoes, I had to use 3 roma tomatoes (about 2/3 lb.) and add two cans of organic diced tomatoes. After trying the food mill for a while, I gave up and grabbed the blender, blending for a few seconds, leaving lumps in the tomatoes for a bit of texture. Completed the rest of the recipe and, after adding the roux and milk blend to the tomato/spice blend, seeing and tasting that I had much more milk than tomatoes, I grabbed a 15oz can of tomato sauce and added it. It turned out okay although if I used the recipe again, I would add at least 3, if not maybe 4 beef bouillon cubes. And, I would expect that the bisque could have been a little thicker in so much as I had to add the can of tomato sauce. My wife has ask that I go back to an old family recipe that I use on occasion for tomato bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States