Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This creates a delicious and comforting bisque. I was feeling a bit more creative the last time I made it, and added 1 can of chick peas, about 1/2 tsp. cumin, and a dash of cinnamon. Oh my! It had a rich, Middle Eastern flavor. Pair it with some pita or crusty bread, and it's a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
It's a great low sodium recipe if you use fresh tomatoes or sodium free canned of some type--about all you can find is diced or whole--but will work if processed correctly. They make beef bullion cubes or powder without sodium as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Can someone help me with this, I have cans of diced tomatoes, do I put these in the food processor first or just dump straight from can to pot and add ingredients??? Sorry I need basic cooking 101:-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This recipe was perfect! We just made this for dinner with a grilled cheese sandwich. The bisque recipe was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I use a large can of natural tomato purée and I use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. I top a bowl of this soup off with some nice shredded Mexican cheese and curtons. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe turned out extremely poorly - I followed it exactly. The soup ended up being a very pale peach colour. It was as if there was too much milk/not enough tomatoes. I reweighed my tomatoes twice and definitely used 2 lbs. The flavour wasn't terrible, but certainly wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made tomato bisque before with fresh tomatoes and it was REALLY good but decided to try the canned which wasn't quite as tasty. I recalled having cooked onion with the tomato and put that through a strainer so I decided to put a small onion & garlic through the processor and added the mash along with the other seasonings. Very happy with the results. The roux & milk mixture went together well but one must be patient and keep it on medium for quite a long time. I made a double batch so that may be the reason for taking so long to thicken up. When I got this all together I put some the soup in quart canning jars and now have two quarts to share or have during the week. My husband gives it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I needed an easy recipe from pantry items on a night when I really just wanted soup. This was IT! I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for a tiny bit of kick, but otherwise I made it as-is. Oh, and I only had skim milk but it still tasted great. Next time I'll try fat free half&half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazingly easy and delicious. Will be making over and over again for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I too used canned tomatoes - it was very good, rich and creamy. Can't wait for tomato season to roll around again to make this with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States