Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Excellent. I used two cans of crushed tomatoes instead of cooking from scratch since I had limited time and it came out great. We did add an extra can of tomato sauce to give a stronger tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
wow - awesome recipe! I used 4 1/2 jumbo tomatoes from garden. Also don't have a foodmill but just peeled & seeded the tomatoes & then pureed them in food processor. Really easy & super fast recipe! Instead of 1 qt of milk I did 1/2 quart of half & half and 1/2 quart of milk. Also added some celery seed which I love to use in soups. Thank you Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good recipe! Great way to use all those tomatoes. After trying it the first time I made it again and froze the tomato mixture. The tomatoes keep coming so I'll probably make more and freeze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I can't say that I followed the recipe to a "T" because I didn't have it infront of me when making the soup... but it was a great basis for my soup. I made the roux and added about a cup of beef broth (didn't have bouillon). Then I added 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes and 1 can pureed fire roasted tomatoes. I used half and half instead of milk and added worchestershire, red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper to the original recipe. Excellent easy supper with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. My bf wants me to add italian sausage next time, so we'll see. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I had to go back and redo my rating based on my changes. I used 1 can of crushed tomatoes and 1 can of tomato soup. I also used 1 pint half and half instead of milk and half the amount of flour. I added a lot more sugar as well. I kept adding it until I got the taste I was looking for. I probably used a little less than 1/4 cup. It was plenty for 4 of us. Thank you Judy for the recipe! I have been looking for a recipe that was similar to Panera's. Your recipe was a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I made it without modifications, except for using canned tomatoes. This was delicious, creamy, and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This bisque was fantastic! It turned out very similar to the restaurant one that made me look for the recipe. I used chicken bouilion cubes instead of beef, used 2% milk, and light butter. I also used canned diced tomatos. One can of Italian flavored, and two cans of regular. I ran one can of the regular through the food processor. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I make this soup regularly--it's fantastic. Sometimes I'll add a little pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I don't have a food mill, and I didn't feel like going through the labor of peeling/seeding the tomatoes (especially since I was making this to use up two pints of grape tomatoes that were starting to wrinkle somewhat), so I decided to make this "rustic," skins and all. I halved the recipe, but I still used two bouillon cubes. I also used less butter and skim milk to make it healthier (and I was a big fan of being able to keep the salt low). Perhaps I'm not picky, but I really liked the way it turned out! This actually tasted like food...not some sort of scary salt with watery tomatoes concoction that you get in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
OMG!!!! This soup is so good I don't have a food mill so I listened to what another reviewer said and put in three small cans of diced tomatoes. My son even liked it and he is picky. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States