Tomato Bisque I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Easy and delicious!!!!! I too puréed the tomatoes in the blender. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Amazing! I made minor excellent changes. I put olive oil in heated pot with half of a minced garlic clove before adding canned whole tomatoes. I also added 3/4 cup of "minor's" chicken broth and added fresh basil to heavy cream and half and half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besgabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Ok so, I am trying to simulate a Campbell's Tomato-Basil Bisque that I purchased @ Costco. They rotate stock often and so there is none available. I only had 1 can of store brand stewed tomatoes (they were a little hard) but wanted to try this recipe out. I did need to tweak a bit but I think it's going to morph into a good substitute. I hydrated 1 teaspoon dried onions, added them to 1 pat butter and cooked for a minute or two, then added about 1/2 t dried basil. Added the tomatoes and cooked 5 minutes (as I mention hard tomatoes will up that time to 15-20 minutes)then pureed with immersion blender. Then I added some a shakes of garlic powder, couple grinds fresh black pepper, 1 t chicken bullion, 1/2 t sugar, more dried basil & used about 3/4 cup 1/2 & 1/2 as I didn't have heavy cream. Now I know that is a lot of tweaking but simple ones and as I said I already had a certain taste in mind. We sampled 1/2 of recipe and will refrigerate other half to see how the flavor develops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
For 3 ingredients, this was quite good. I used fresh basil and added a little cilantro, salt, and pepper. My husband said it could've used more salt. Note: I used a 28 oz. can of peeled, crushed tomatoes, instead of the 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, and the consistency was fine and I didn't have to puree or blend anything. The next time that I have leftover heavy cream, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Quick and easy. Will use a bit less cream next time, but otherwise was great with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Only change: I blended the tomatoes (not liquidy, but pretty smooth texture and few chunks in the end) Let me preface this with the fact that I HATE tomato anything... lobster bisque is as close as I will get, and I'm still picky about that. I made this recipe in a large crock pot in the morning, and when 12:00 rolled around for a school luncheon, it was "perfect" (so says everyone else). I was VERY happy to not take any home after school! I'm sure it was great! (It doesn't always matter to me if I like it - it matters that the crowd is pleased!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Simple and delicious. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a couple dashes of garlic salt, 1/4 tsp of kosher salt and pepper. My family and I loved it. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was a little scared trying this.. with so few ingredients or instructions... but it turned out great! I increased the servings to 12, so ended up using 3 28oz cans of stewed tomatoes, a small carton of heavy cream (about 2 1/2 cups) and 4 or 5 teaspoons of fresh chopped basil. I followed the advice of another review and added pepper, garlic powder and some fresh ground sea salt for seasoning. I hadn't pureed, so just took out my mixer and used a few times to chunk up the tomatoes. I got rave reviews from my family... smelled great as it simmered (that fresh basil!) and with grilled cheese sandwiches, it was the perfect Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is a great dish for a cold day or anytime. Healthy and VERY easy recipe! One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
What a great recipe! Its a keeper! Fast and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States