Tomato Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I cooked this on high for 4hrs and the beef came out very tender. The stroganoff seasoning was a bit salty and the dish could benefit by the addition of an extra cup of egg noodles. Overall a nice dish that we will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe is an excellent base. With some minor changes, I found it really outstanding! These were the edits I made: - left out mushrooms (not a fan) - only used 1 packet of stroganoff seasoning (vs 2) - used full bag of wavy egg noodles - added additional seasonings to crockpot with meat (cut into 1.5" chunks) / tomatoes and cooked on low for 8 hours (minced garlic, red pepper flake, basil, oregano, salt, pepper) - with about an hour left, i pulled out and cut the meat into small shreds and then returned it to the crockpot - after adding the pasta, i cooked it together for only about 10 minutes (to avoid mushy pasta) Stroganoff is a standard crockpot meal in fall and winter for us and this will be replacing my old recipe! It had a subtle sweetness and fantastic creaminess. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Cooked on low for 8 hours, added noodles (I did add about 3 cups), cooked 30 more minutes on high. Had really good flavor, the noodles got a little mushy. Will make again, but I think I will cook noodles (or rice would be good) separately. Overall, a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I love allrecipes and make recipes off the site all the time. I followed the directions exactly and I don't even know how you could alter this to make it better. Definitely will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I used 2 cups penne instead of egg noodles, I used tomato sauce but not the chopped tomatoes. I also, did not add mushrooms. I added onion and garlic and cooked in a regular skillet. I also did not have sour cream and as gross and weird as it may sound, I used chive cream cheese in mine. It was delicious!! :) I like to look at different recipes to get an idea and I change them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I liked it but my husband who is very fussy would rate it 3 stars. I think it was a bit bland for him. Reading other people's reviews there are add ons that would give it any extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I added horseradish for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Instant family favorite! Healthy, easy, and tasty! We make this all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe tasted like hamburger helper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe. As it was cooking, all the tomatoes and beef seemed more like goulash than stroganoff. At the end, I tried some with the sour cream, and mixed Parmesan cheese into the rest. The herbs from the stroganoff mix and Parmesan cheese produced a pretty good (not outstanding) goulash. The sour cream produced a bland, mildly-acidic stroganoff. So if you're wanting to cook up some strogonaff, I would suggest you find another recipe. If you're wanting to make an easy, crock pot goulash, you could use this one, substituting about a third cup of Parmesan cheese for the cup of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Pond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States