Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I posted a review of this recipe yesterday and want to add a couple notes. Since I make a large bowl of this for a crowd, I really don't measure...just do it to taste. But I do use a 4 oz container of the Feta. Also I use red onion sliced, for more color and to sweeten it just a little, add some honey to the Balsamic, to taste.I also slice the cucumbers instead of chopping. If this salad is made in advance, I put the olive oil in last after marinating all the other ingredients in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Fantanstic Recipe!! I tripled the recipe to feed about 15 people. The only change I made was to use purple onion in place of the green onions. I think its prettier and the onions tend to be sweeter after marinading in the vinegar and oil. I also made this one day before serving BUT did NOT add the feta until just prior to serving. This allowed the salad to marinate and take on that wonderful balsamic taste!! It was awesome and everyone loved it!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Excellent! Instead of romas, I used tomatoes from the garden, which I seeded, and I used blue cheese instead of feta. Also used coarsely chopped red onion instead of green onions. The substitutions I made, I'm sure, were incidental to the final yum of the salad. It's the perfect combination of balsamic, olive oil and fresh basil that makes this an outstanding salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This could easily become a summertime habit! Roma tomatoes have been particularly red and ripe lately in our groceries, and with a plentiful supply of basil in my garden I could eat this healthy, light, flavorful salad every day. I didn't peel the cucumbers, but to prevent excess liquid as the salad sat I seeded both the cucumbers and the tomatoes. I think with the extra green of the cucumber peel, and getting rid of that not particularly attractive "guts," that it made this salad especially pretty. The green onion provided just the slightest bit of bite, but not as much as regular onion would, which I appreciated. This really is a a more delicately flavored salad. In keeping with that, I used fresh lemon juice rather than balsamic vinegar, which I prefer when I want a lighter dressing. At the last minute I tossed in some chopped ripe avocado when I remembered I had one and it really added so much creamy contrast in texture. I loved it. And I loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Delicious! Very good and very refreshing! I love the combination of tomato, basil and feta. I used cherry tomatoes that I cut in half lenghtwise and replaced the green onions with red. I aso added a little bit of oregano for a little extra touch of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Wonderfully refreshing! I was lucky to get one small serving- I added some black olives for color and fun. Will make all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
A great way to use my garden veggies and herbs! I used sweet baby cherry tomatoes instead of romas. I also removed the seeds from the cucumber, sprinkled the two halves with salt and turned upside down to drain for a few minutes before slicing. A nice summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Greek salad with basil basically, as i used red onions instead of green. the basil over powers the taste though so i think i will stick with the "good for you greek salad" instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Excelent as published. I will triple this next time. Its healthy and satisfying. I will prepare this frequently.Lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Our tomato and cucumber crops are booming, and this recipe jumped out at me. I plucked some basil out of the garden and whipped this up, and it was very good. I forgot the green onions, but it was fine without. The recipe would be good tossed with salad greens, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States