Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This could easily become a summertime habit! Roma tomatoes have been particularly red and ripe lately in our groceries, and with a plentiful supply of basil in my garden I could eat this healthy, light, flavorful salad every day. I didn't peel the cucumbers, but to prevent excess liquid as the salad sat I seeded both the cucumbers and the tomatoes. I think with the extra green of the cucumber peel, and getting rid of that not particularly attractive "guts," that it made this salad especially pretty. The green onion provided just the slightest bit of bite, but not as much as regular onion would, which I appreciated. This really is a a more delicately flavored salad. In keeping with that, I used fresh lemon juice rather than balsamic vinegar, which I prefer when I want a lighter dressing. At the last minute I tossed in some chopped ripe avocado when I remembered I had one and it really added so much creamy contrast in texture. I loved it. And I loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
very simple and delicious! I didn't have green onions, but I didn't miss them. I think I'll try with purple onion next time, as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
FAB-u-lous! Used grape tomatoes along with red onions, cucumbers & fresh asparagus. No fresh basil on hand, so used dry and had to add a bit of honey (my balsamic vinegar wasn't the best) and marinated everything except feta cheese for about 5 hours b4 serving. LOVED it! Will make again & again this summer, using fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Delicious! Very good and very refreshing! I love the combination of tomato, basil and feta. I used cherry tomatoes that I cut in half lenghtwise and replaced the green onions with red. I aso added a little bit of oregano for a little extra touch of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This salad is so refreshing! I like to also add a little garlic powder and some extra feta. We LOVE it, especially in the summer with garden fresh ingredients-YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I didn't have roma tomatoes so used cherry tomatoes instead. I let the salad sit in the fridge for a couple of hours then added the feta just before serving. We really liked the balsamic dressing. Thankyou Vancgirl 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Wonderful!!! I also added black olives and red onion. I didn't add the oil and vinegar until about 30 minute before serving. Be sure to salt and pepper to taste. I will be making this again and again. I can't wait for the veggies from my garden:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I thought the vinegar flavor in this was overpowering, much as I liked the idea and the ingredients. If I make it again, I will use half or less of the vinegar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I omit the green onions and add honey. Everyone I've made this for LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
very good! I added fresh mushrooms too! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States