Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a delicious and refreshing salad. I prepared everything the day before serving and refrigerated. Just before serving, I added the feta cheese. The only changes I made were to add extra feta (about 1/3 cup), use beefsteak tomatoes (seeded) in place of roma, and purple onion in place of the scallions. (I also didn't fully peel my cucumbers, but left some strips of green on them for the added color.) I made these substitutions in order to use what I had on hand. The fresh basil definitely adds the finishing touch to this salad. I would recommend using white balsamic vinegar, if available, to keep the colors of the veggies bright. This is a GREAT recipe and we'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
this recipe was the best, I had plenty of grape tomato and basil in the garden and needed to something with it all. The only thing I did diffrent was to add some bell pepper (plenty in the garden as well) I also added the red oion that some one else mentioned, and added the feta at the very end, wounderfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very refreshing salad. Excellent with fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden. So easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wonderful summer salad for garden veggies. I subbed blue cheese for the feta(all I had on hand). I also used champagne balsamic vinegar. The second time I made it with rice wine vinegar. Delicious both times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very flavorful. I made it a day before w-o feta cheese and then completely forgot to add it. We never missed it, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I really liked this, but my family wasn't as impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This recipe was very good. I made double using 12 roma tomatoes and 2 med-large cucumbers the day before, and then added the feta the next day. Substituted 1 large red onion for the green onions. Might add sliced olives next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
i made this for my family today for dinner. the flavor was great we used basal, tomatoes and cucumbers from our garden and I must say it is probably one of the best salads I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was very good. I used cherry tomatoes fresh from the garden. Also added kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Enjoyed by vegetarian and glueten free family members as well as everyone else! Loved how the flavors marinaded together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States