Tomato-Basil Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I give this 5 stars on the condition of using a can of Italian diced tomatoes instead of the soup. Every thing else was the same except I used lots of fresh minced garlic. We loved it with these changes-wish I could used fresh tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I found a big zucchini in the garden and needed a healthy side dish for dinner. This recipe was the ticket. I didn't use the tomato soup. Instead I used a can of chopped Italian tomatoes. I sauteed the onion and 3 garlic minced cloves and zucchini pieces before adding in the tomatoes. I thought this was very good and healthy stewed dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This definitely has potential. I used a can of Tomato Soup and it was too salty and it tasted way too much like the soup. I'm definitely going to try this again with fresh tomatos, and I think it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremmling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe. I too made some changes, I used a lot of fresh garlic and a dash of celery salt. I used ramano cheese as well and a ton of the two chesses. We had it as a soup type dish, and the cheeses helped thicken it up. I also tried with diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup, and didn't like it as much, not enough flavor defussion. Side note: If you have a gaint zucchini like mike garden likes to produce, cube it without the seeds for a thicker dish, or with the seeds for the more soupie varity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thru away my other zucchini recipe and now I make only this one. Great flavor (which is great because zucchini doesn't have any flavor) Added a bit of my own seasonings with the ones listed. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I'm giving it a four star, because my husband thought it was "alright," I liked it thou. So I might be able to sneak it every once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Wonderful! I'm not a big fan of green pepper so I substituted with sliced mushrooms instead. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Nice side dish, flavorful. Took one reviewers advice and used diced tomatoes. 3 of us ate it all (shows how good it was!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yum yum yum! This is a great alternative to my standard 'don't know what to do with the zucchini so just saute it with onion' recipe. Perfect flavor, excellent blend of veggies! Only change i made was to add some sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is great! I had some tomato bisque with spinach left over so i used it instead of the plain tomato soup. Other than that minor change I used the recipe to a T. My husband loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States