Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had never had tomato soup before because it just didn't sound good. But this soup is really great. I used a can of diced tomatoes, and I added a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce and a tablespoon of sugar. My husband even loved this soup and he doesn't really like tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
there should be a higher rating than just 5 stars for this. we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly but added some chopped clams the last few minutes of cooking. My husband and kids loved it especially since the tomatos and basil and oregeneo came from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great tomato soup recipe. The spices give it that "grown-up" flavor missing from the old standard can. I used a hand smoothie blender to puree the tomatoes at the end of cooking to give it a thicker, heartier quality. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
That this recipe is low-calorie and low-fat is a bonus. This is one soup I would prepare even if healthy eating wasn't a concern. It is perfectly constructed, nothing you would find out of a can. This one goes into my favorites and no doubt will be one I will remember for the rest of my life. I wouldn't change a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I love making this with my boyfriend! The first time I made it, I couldn't really taste the tomato or the other spices over the basil, so I usually cut the amount of basil in half and don't let it simmer as long. Other than that, this soup goes wonderfully with a sliced Italian bread and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is some of the best soup I've ever had in my life. I LOVE soup so I don't say this lightly!! Easy to prepare and ready fast. The only change I made was adding a little bit extra garlic and fresh basil (use 2xs as much). SO SO SO GOOD I am fighting myself to not eat it all!***Edit*** I also like to top this with croutons and fresh parmesan cheese. It's also very good if you put it in a blender (I use a hand blender) and puree it with a bit of cream. Just be sure to remove the bay leaf! One last thing, I always make this with (gasp) canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was a great lite soup. I used veggie broth because my daughter is a veg. My kids, who do not even eat sauce on there pasta, ate this with crutons. So easy to make! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
We tried this tonight. Excellent. I changed the recipe slightly to get more veggies and taste. I put in 3 cloves of garlic and a 1/4 cup of finely minced baby carrots. Since half of my family likes cream of tomato soup and half does not I added about a 1/4 cup of milk to those who liked creamy soup. I tasted the soup both ways and loved it. We loved it so much that we are going to the store to buy more tomatoes and will used up the last of the basil from my garden to freeze some soup. YUM!! My pickiest child had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was my first try at home made soup. It was out of this world. Restaurant quality flavor. My wife raved about it, I loved it. Fantastic. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States