Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I am only giving it four stars because I have a few suggestions that I think would make it a five star recipe. First I added a peeled and cubed potato and 1/4 cup cream. Then I blended it with the smoothie blender. It comes out very creamy with a nice thickness to it because of the pureed potato. I also might use vegetable broth instead of chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is some of the best soup I've ever had in my life. I LOVE soup so I don't say this lightly!! Easy to prepare and ready fast. The only change I made was adding a little bit extra garlic and fresh basil (use 2xs as much). SO SO SO GOOD I am fighting myself to not eat it all!***Edit*** I also like to top this with croutons and fresh parmesan cheese. It's also very good if you put it in a blender (I use a hand blender) and puree it with a bit of cream. Just be sure to remove the bay leaf! One last thing, I always make this with (gasp) canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by laughingmagpie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for dinner picture tonight. Big hit with the famiy, however I adapted to my tastes and ingredients on hand. I used fresh tomato and herbs (basil, oregano & parsley). I peeled and seeded the tomatoes. I added a bit of feta and blended it smooth with the immersion blender. Also used more wine and subbed tomato juice for some of the broth. Also used honey instead of sugar. (processed sugar bad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
That this recipe is low-calorie and low-fat is a bonus. This is one soup I would prepare even if healthy eating wasn't a concern. It is perfectly constructed, nothing you would find out of a can. This one goes into my favorites and no doubt will be one I will remember for the rest of my life. I wouldn't change a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very simple and tasty soup to accompany some warm crusty bread and a salad. I used sake in place of white wine because I was out, and the flavor was fine. I also added some salt (for the tomatoes), milk (or soy milk - for a bit of a thicker consistancy) and chopped zucchini, squash and carrots (for a more substantial "bite"). Everyone loved the "spice" aftertaste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Very easy to make and has good flavor. I added salt and pepper. I also pureed the soup in batches to make it thicker. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great tomato soup recipe. The spices give it that "grown-up" flavor missing from the old standard can. I used a hand smoothie blender to puree the tomatoes at the end of cooking to give it a thicker, heartier quality. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
While this is not the yummiest tomato soup, made as is, it is definately the lowest calorie tomato soup and still tasty. Worth making for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
It had a good flavor, but I didn't love it... definitely more sauce-y than soup-y. Even though I put diced potato in it (per another review), it was still pretty thin and way saltier than I expected - maybe dilute your broth or use a low-sodium variety. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is a quick and easy soup to make. It tastes great! I like to add cooked noodles whenever I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States