Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
That this recipe is low-calorie and low-fat is a bonus. This is one soup I would prepare even if healthy eating wasn't a concern. It is perfectly constructed, nothing you would find out of a can. This one goes into my favorites and no doubt will be one I will remember for the rest of my life. I wouldn't change a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great tomato soup recipe. The spices give it that "grown-up" flavor missing from the old standard can. I used a hand smoothie blender to puree the tomatoes at the end of cooking to give it a thicker, heartier quality. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Added salt and pepper and a little cream at the end. Kids liked it but like the stuff out of a can better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I hate to be the one bad review, but I thought this tasted like watered down spaghetti sauce. As spaghetti sauce it was really good (I strained it and used it as such last night--my family loved it). As a soup, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is a quick and easy soup to make. It tastes great! I like to add cooked noodles whenever I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly but added some chopped clams the last few minutes of cooking. My husband and kids loved it especially since the tomatos and basil and oregeneo came from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
there should be a higher rating than just 5 stars for this. we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I made this soup for a luncheon at work. My co-workers and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Very easy to make and has good flavor. I added salt and pepper. I also pureed the soup in batches to make it thicker. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Elkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very simple and tasty soup to accompany some warm crusty bread and a salad. I used sake in place of white wine because I was out, and the flavor was fine. I also added some salt (for the tomatoes), milk (or soy milk - for a bit of a thicker consistancy) and chopped zucchini, squash and carrots (for a more substantial "bite"). Everyone loved the "spice" aftertaste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States