Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was my first try at home made soup. It was out of this world. Restaurant quality flavor. My wife raved about it, I loved it. Fantastic. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laughingmagpie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for dinner picture tonight. Big hit with the famiy, however I adapted to my tastes and ingredients on hand. I used fresh tomato and herbs (basil, oregano & parsley). I peeled and seeded the tomatoes. I added a bit of feta and blended it smooth with the immersion blender. Also used more wine and subbed tomato juice for some of the broth. Also used honey instead of sugar. (processed sugar bad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
We tried this tonight. Excellent. I changed the recipe slightly to get more veggies and taste. I put in 3 cloves of garlic and a 1/4 cup of finely minced baby carrots. Since half of my family likes cream of tomato soup and half does not I added about a 1/4 cup of milk to those who liked creamy soup. I tasted the soup both ways and loved it. We loved it so much that we are going to the store to buy more tomatoes and will used up the last of the basil from my garden to freeze some soup. YUM!! My pickiest child had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
It had a good flavor, but I didn't love it... definitely more sauce-y than soup-y. Even though I put diced potato in it (per another review), it was still pretty thin and way saltier than I expected - maybe dilute your broth or use a low-sodium variety. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
When I found this recipe, I was in one of those moods where I wanted to make it right away...But on checking, I never had all the ingredients. I substituted the fresh tomatoes for a bottle of passata and a tin of chopped tomatoes and a spoonful of tomato puree. I had dried herbs but I decided to add the fresh basil on it's own. It made enough for 6-8 people and everyone said it was fantastic and full of flavour. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was a great lite soup. I used veggie broth because my daughter is a veg. My kids, who do not even eat sauce on there pasta, ate this with crutons. So easy to make! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I make this soup often. It's easy and always a winner. I usually add more tomatoes and sometimes throw in canelini beans and wilted spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I am only giving it four stars because I have a few suggestions that I think would make it a five star recipe. First I added a peeled and cubed potato and 1/4 cup cream. Then I blended it with the smoothie blender. It comes out very creamy with a nice thickness to it because of the pureed potato. I also might use vegetable broth instead of chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is some of the best soup I've ever had in my life. I LOVE soup so I don't say this lightly!! Easy to prepare and ready fast. The only change I made was adding a little bit extra garlic and fresh basil (use 2xs as much). SO SO SO GOOD I am fighting myself to not eat it all!***Edit*** I also like to top this with croutons and fresh parmesan cheese. It's also very good if you put it in a blender (I use a hand blender) and puree it with a bit of cream. Just be sure to remove the bay leaf! One last thing, I always make this with (gasp) canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I love making this with my boyfriend! The first time I made it, I couldn't really taste the tomato or the other spices over the basil, so I usually cut the amount of basil in half and don't let it simmer as long. Other than that, this soup goes wonderfully with a sliced Italian bread and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States