Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I am vegan so I used vegetable broth and I didn't use any oil so it was fat free. I also use fresh herbs whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wellness Forum Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
You need to blend this before you serve it. Other than that its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I didn't have fresh basil so this recipe was a life saver. Family loved it and asked for 2nd's. I used my little chopper machine to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYES
Living In: Animas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I prefer a non-creamy tomato soup so this was perfect for me. I added finely chopped yellow and orange bell peppers and it gave the soup a tiny sweetness. I also blended it all up at the end to make it a more smooth soup. We had Reuben sandwiches with it and I brought leftovers the next day to work. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMyers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Still one of my absolute favorite soups - I make this all the time, whether I'm watching my weight or not (made it tonight, in fact!) My family loves it too and asks for it often. The key is blending the soup before serving it. It gives it that creamy consistency without adding the fat and calories of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is the second tomato soup I tried on here. The first one had cream and it was good, this one doesn't and it is fantastic. The cream dilutes the flavors of the basil and garlic, which I love. Can't wait to try with fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellisville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had never had tomato soup before because it just didn't sound good. But this soup is really great. I used a can of diced tomatoes, and I added a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce and a tablespoon of sugar. My husband even loved this soup and he doesn't really like tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
The soup was a little to thick and actually made a great sauce for pasta. I originally used it with some homemade Italian soup bread bowls. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
While this is not the yummiest tomato soup, made as is, it is definately the lowest calorie tomato soup and still tasty. Worth making for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This soup was seriously lacking in salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States