Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Quite good, but will need to try again to determine exactly what to experiment with to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pretty good. As others noted, it isn't a thick based tomato basil soup, but it is good nonetheless. I actually made this twice within a matter of days, it was so easy and I had extra tomatoes on hand. The second time, I did try to thicken it with flour and succeeded to a limited extent. What I liked about this recipe is that I can get all the ingredients (I live in Germany), and I don't need lots of kitchen equipment (i.e. an oven or blender), and it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My husband, who likes tomatoes more than me, made this recipe for dinner last night, and these comments come from him. ... I was hoping for something with a bit of body and with a bit more tomato flavor. What I got was something sort of brothy and non-descript--hardly savory and barely more than chicken broth seasoned with a hint of tomato and a hint of other spices. In fact, basil was barely discernable. I added corn starch to thicken the soup to a tolerable level, and with enough crackers, we ate it, but I'll be looking for a different version which tastes more like tomatoes and less like something from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is a perfect soup--just don't follow the advice of the reviewer who wants you to add cream. That makes it an entirely different, less tomato-tasting soup, not to mention more than doubling the calories and adding fat. Why would you do that to a recipe that's awesome the way it is: light, tangy, delicious. Mess with the herbs if you want, but trust me on the cream. I make this all the time, quick and easy, from tomatoes we froze in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It is thin, almost water-ey, even with blending, it still had a thin, tomato sauce-like consistency. The bigger issue for me was the lack of deep, rich tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Did not like at all, not sure what would have made it better, guess I like a more creamy tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was ok. Didn't taste like the thick tomato basil soup that I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was really good but I did have to add a couple things. As a garnish I added avocado and sour cream. The directions should be written with more steps so that it is easier to read. I didn't have any marjoram so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
the BEST tomato soup ever...even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States