Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Eating this for dinner right now and I'm really enjoying it! Used about 1 1/4 cup of cheese (1 cup mozarella, 1/4 cup parm) and added dried basil and red pepper flakes to the oil before cooking garlic. I used nearly a full box of pasta and it had a great cheese to pasta ratio, for us. Also added 1/3 cup of chicken broth. Very simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I could have eaten a whole pot of this all by myself... but I didn't! I used Monterey Jack cheese and a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes instead of the Pepper Jack to tone down the spice for my kids. Next time, I'll try adding spinach. This was a wonderful way to use up some extra grape tomatoes I had leftover from a catering event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Loved it, but I made a few changes. I add ground beef, crushed red pepper for more flavor, and instead of grape tomatoes I used two cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with peppers. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
If I try this again I would leave out the mozzarella. All the cheese clumped together....not a creamy dish as described. But I think it would have been delicious, otherwise. Maybe use cream cheese instead of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe was amazing, quick, and easy. I was able to cut recipe in half to make it for two people. I added a bit of oregano, used wheat penne pasta, cut the basil oil, and only used parmesan cheese because that is all I had on hand. It still turned out great, I can only imagine how delicious it would be if I had all the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. I thought it was ok, but my hubby loved it.I added spinach and shrimp, if I make it again I will add more garlic. All in all it was a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Followed directions as stated and loved it. fast and easy. Some say to much noodles, but you need to make sure you look at the size of the package you use. Most are 12 to 16oz packages, so only use half the package and it is great. Will diffidently do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It's just missing a little salt and pepper. This would be a complete meal if it has some kind of meat in it. It makes a wonderful side dish alongside some eggplant and chicken Parmesan or Pane'd pork chops (breaded and deep fried). I absolutely LOVE this combination of flavors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Good base recipe, but I used 3/4 cup of each cheese and added 4 ounces of cream cheese - very creamy and super delicious! I also often add spinach and/or mushrooms. Love this recipe using my tweaks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I used the creamy feta which coated everything even better. Everyone I have served this to raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States