Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
my 3 year old nephew loves this dish as well as my bf. Easy to make and doesnt take long to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I added some slice black olives. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
it was way too cheesy, the pepperjack was too overpowering and at the same time bland. maybe if you cut both the mozzarella and pepperjack in half then add about 1/3c of chicken broth and salt and pepper to taste, it would be more enjoyable. i added some chicken broth to mine which seemed to have saved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Its a keeper! Really easy to make, I usually keep most of these ingredients in my house already so this side dish had been added to our regular rotation. The only thing I did different was used wheat penne instead of regular penne. Goes great with breaded chicken cutlets (or adding leftover chicken cutlets cut into small pieces)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
way too cheesy. good at the first bite, but overwhelming if you have an entire serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
sorry, but I had to throw my sauce out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
i asked my mom "on a scale of 1-5 what would rate it?" and without hesitation she said "10!" and my parents are brutally honest with me when it comes to food because they know i want to open my own restaurant in a couple years. i changed it a little bit. i just put in the olive oil and got the pan warm and put in the garlic some basil and tomatoes all at one time. i put half the amount of garlic because my dad doesnt like garlic. i thought it was enough to have some flavor but blend in really well so you couldnt notice it. i did the 1 cup of mozzarella but instead of 1 cup of pepperjack i did half a cup of feta and i didnt add the parmesan because my dad doesnt like that either and the feta has a parmesan flavor to it so i think it would be overpowering a little. it was still really good and my mom said it was perfect and i shouldnt change anything and i totally agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I was a little hesitant to try this but it was absolutely delicious and I gave it 5 stars. The only modification I made was that I used 3 tbl. regular olive oil and 1 tbl. dried basil. Very creamy and with just a slight kick due to the pepperjack cheese. It's like a new versions of mac and cheese. You won't be diappointed if you give this recipe a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made the following changes: Smart Taste Rotini instead of Penne, followed the directions on the box for cooking time. I used much less cheese than the recipe called for - about 1/2 a cup of mozz, a small amount of parm and added feta instead of the jack. It came out great. Next time I will add spinach for sure. I served it with the Parmesan Chicken recipe by Mollie Hall on this site (see my review there for my adjustments). FANTASTIC dinner - everyone in the family had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was very good and my family enjoyed it. I thought it was a little too cheesy, pan and plates were hard to clean afterward. Maybe I'll try adding more tomatoes and basil next time so it's not so sticky. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States