Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
way too cheesy. good at the first bite, but overwhelming if you have an entire serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
sorry, but I had to throw my sauce out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
i asked my mom "on a scale of 1-5 what would rate it?" and without hesitation she said "10!" and my parents are brutally honest with me when it comes to food because they know i want to open my own restaurant in a couple years. i changed it a little bit. i just put in the olive oil and got the pan warm and put in the garlic some basil and tomatoes all at one time. i put half the amount of garlic because my dad doesnt like garlic. i thought it was enough to have some flavor but blend in really well so you couldnt notice it. i did the 1 cup of mozzarella but instead of 1 cup of pepperjack i did half a cup of feta and i didnt add the parmesan because my dad doesnt like that either and the feta has a parmesan flavor to it so i think it would be overpowering a little. it was still really good and my mom said it was perfect and i shouldnt change anything and i totally agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I was a little hesitant to try this but it was absolutely delicious and I gave it 5 stars. The only modification I made was that I used 3 tbl. regular olive oil and 1 tbl. dried basil. Very creamy and with just a slight kick due to the pepperjack cheese. It's like a new versions of mac and cheese. You won't be diappointed if you give this recipe a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made the following changes: Smart Taste Rotini instead of Penne, followed the directions on the box for cooking time. I used much less cheese than the recipe called for - about 1/2 a cup of mozz, a small amount of parm and added feta instead of the jack. It came out great. Next time I will add spinach for sure. I served it with the Parmesan Chicken recipe by Mollie Hall on this site (see my review there for my adjustments). FANTASTIC dinner - everyone in the family had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was very good and my family enjoyed it. I thought it was a little too cheesy, pan and plates were hard to clean afterward. Maybe I'll try adding more tomatoes and basil next time so it's not so sticky. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I had a ton of grape tomatoes from our yard to use and some fresh basil too so this was a great way to use them. I have two small children, so I sauted some diced up chicken in olive oil with a little garlic & s/p first and then removed the chicken added a little more oil and followed the recipe minus the basil oil. I used whole wheat rigatoni and it was DELICIOUS! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Terrific! We loved this! The cheeses were so good together. I would have never guessed pepperjack could have been so smooth and delicious when paired with mozzerella! I did add black olives since they were in the frige and thw whole thing was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Yum, yum! I didn't have basil oil so I just doubled the olive oil. My husband had 3rd, which never happens. I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great pasta dish! I added yellow squash and zucchini (because I do to everything this time of year!), and used plum tomatoes because I didn't have grape. I can't believe I'm going to say it, but the amount of cheese was too much for me, made doing the dishes a bear too trying to get all the cheese off the plates and pans. Next time I make this, which I definitely will, I will use less cheese and more basil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States