Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I loved this Recipe! However, I did make a few modifications. First, I used Monterey-jack cheese instead of mozzarella (only because it what i had on hand). Since My mom, sister, and i dont eat wheat, i made this with penne pasta as well as gluten free. I was very surprised it actually tasted good gluten free. Finally i added both fresh and dried basil for more flavor. Overall, I thought this recipe was easy, fresh, and delicious and i will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelynrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oclocal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was a great idea. I eliminated the pepper jack and mozzarella (cause i didn't have any) and used whole wheat spiral. It was perfect. My 4 year old asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was really good. I added some crushed red pepper for a little extra kick. I can't wait to have it again tommorow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
It was indeed cheesy though I had taken the advise of several other cooks and cut the pepper jack cheese. My kids still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was definitely a cheesy dish, which I can't complain about because I love anything cheesy. I did double the pasta but only added a little more than the amount of cheese and it was still had plenty of cheese. Overall, it has a very nice blend of flavors with a little kick from the pepperjack. Thanks from the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
my 3 year old nephew loves this dish as well as my bf. Easy to make and doesnt take long to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I added some slice black olives. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
it was way too cheesy, the pepperjack was too overpowering and at the same time bland. maybe if you cut both the mozzarella and pepperjack in half then add about 1/3c of chicken broth and salt and pepper to taste, it would be more enjoyable. i added some chicken broth to mine which seemed to have saved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Its a keeper! Really easy to make, I usually keep most of these ingredients in my house already so this side dish had been added to our regular rotation. The only thing I did different was used wheat penne instead of regular penne. Goes great with breaded chicken cutlets (or adding leftover chicken cutlets cut into small pieces)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States