Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very good! I did have to substitute the jack cheese. I'm feeding tots & I didn't have any. I used feta! It was great! The only other thing I did different was sauté some diced red onion with the garlic. And because I didn't have basil oil I used extra olive oil & added fresh basil & 1/2 tsp of prepared pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Eating this for dinner right now and I'm really enjoying it! Used about 1 1/4 cup of cheese (1 cup mozarella, 1/4 cup parm) and added dried basil and red pepper flakes to the oil before cooking garlic. I used nearly a full box of pasta and it had a great cheese to pasta ratio, for us. Also added 1/3 cup of chicken broth. Very simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I could have eaten a whole pot of this all by myself... but I didn't! I used Monterey Jack cheese and a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes instead of the Pepper Jack to tone down the spice for my kids. Next time, I'll try adding spinach. This was a wonderful way to use up some extra grape tomatoes I had leftover from a catering event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Loved it, but I made a few changes. I add ground beef, crushed red pepper for more flavor, and instead of grape tomatoes I used two cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with peppers. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
If I try this again I would leave out the mozzarella. All the cheese clumped together....not a creamy dish as described. But I think it would have been delicious, otherwise. Maybe use cream cheese instead of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe was amazing, quick, and easy. I was able to cut recipe in half to make it for two people. I added a bit of oregano, used wheat penne pasta, cut the basil oil, and only used parmesan cheese because that is all I had on hand. It still turned out great, I can only imagine how delicious it would be if I had all the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. I thought it was ok, but my hubby loved it.I added spinach and shrimp, if I make it again I will add more garlic. All in all it was a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Followed directions as stated and loved it. fast and easy. Some say to much noodles, but you need to make sure you look at the size of the package you use. Most are 12 to 16oz packages, so only use half the package and it is great. Will diffidently do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It's just missing a little salt and pepper. This would be a complete meal if it has some kind of meat in it. It makes a wonderful side dish alongside some eggplant and chicken Parmesan or Pane'd pork chops (breaded and deep fried). I absolutely LOVE this combination of flavors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Good base recipe, but I used 3/4 cup of each cheese and added 4 ounces of cream cheese - very creamy and super delicious! I also often add spinach and/or mushrooms. Love this recipe using my tweaks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States