Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
My family and I loved this recipe! I agree with the other reviews that it does need some tweaking. In regards to the ratio of cheese to pasta, that is definitely going to come down to personal preference. If you typically like a lot of sauce with your pasta then don't change the listed amounts. If you prefer to have your pasta lightly coated with sauce to enhance the flavor then use either double the amount of pasta or half the amount of cheese. Here is how I made this one: First I cooked some chicken in the pan seasoned with the oil, salt, pepper and chili powder. Once that was done I cooked the garlic then poured in 1/3 C chicken broth and followed the recipe from there. I read that people were having issues with combining the pasta and cheese and I did too, at first. I decided to pour the cheese into the pasta as suggested then let the whole thing sit on low heat until I heard it sizzle. Once it was heated I started to stir everything together. That made it so much easier to get the pasta well coated. Hope that helps :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Used Classico sun dried tomato sauce as base. Followed the recipe, but left out pepper jack. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
My family really enjoyed this dish. I would just recommend doing the cheese differently as another reviewer said it melted in clumps and was challenging to distribute evenly. There were no leftovers which says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was not very creamy like I expected with so much cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Delicious! Kept to recipe except added a few mushrooms while the tomatoes were simmering. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slowku
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Just made this, and it's really good. the cheese gets all melty and stringy and hard to keep under control while eating. Beware. Also, I added a chopped habenero for some extra heat and it was fuego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Love this recipe. The whole family raved about it and want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Sewald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha Urquhart-Foster
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
We prefer more sauce/less chunks. I followed the recipe and my teenager/pasta fanatic kiddo said it was alright, which means not great and not bad. We will try it again with modifications by reducing the amount of halved tomatoes and adding tomato sauce to fit our preferences. However, we were happy to try a new pasta recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very good! I did have to substitute the jack cheese. I'm feeding tots & I didn't have any. I used feta! It was great! The only other thing I did different was sauté some diced red onion with the garlic. And because I didn't have basil oil I used extra olive oil & added fresh basil & 1/2 tsp of prepared pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Eating this for dinner right now and I'm really enjoying it! Used about 1 1/4 cup of cheese (1 cup mozarella, 1/4 cup parm) and added dried basil and red pepper flakes to the oil before cooking garlic. I used nearly a full box of pasta and it had a great cheese to pasta ratio, for us. Also added 1/3 cup of chicken broth. Very simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States