Tomato Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Great recipe! This pasta is good warm or cold. I marinated about 3 cups of cherry tomatoes that I cut in half lengthwise, cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup, used 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onion and doubled the amount of fresh basil. I added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes, a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes, and a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar. I let everything marinate along with the garlic, salt and pepper for a few hours at room temp. Boiled some penne pasta then tossed it with the feta and parmesan. This was a meal all in itself, but was a great side dish for some grilled italian marinated chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I really loved this. It was so good I could hardly stop eating! I used Trader Joe's multi-grain flax spiral pasta, and chose to sautee the onion a few minutes. I left the garlic raw, however, as I enjoy that flavor. I added a little more fresh basil and an extra tomato too. I cut down on the oil by 2 TBS, and added two splashes of red wine vinegar. I loved how the feta tasted with all the ingredients. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This recipe was excellent with fresh garden tomatoes. I rolled and sliced the basil, and added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes to the tomato mixture. Since this was more tasty the next day, The next time I let the mixture marinade over night in the fridge, heat just to room temp, and then serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I make this constantly! Added balsamic-half a teaspoon and i saute garlic and onion prior to mixing it up. I also add extra garlic and mix cherry tomatoes with vine tomatoes. It goes fast in my house! Good warmed or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I substituted one cup of cut-up sundried tomatoes (more expensive but much more flavorful) for the fresh diced tomatoes and used LOTS of torn fresh basil leaves. Everyone LOVED the salad at the BBQ and many wanted the recipe. The leftovers were delicious for lunch the next day warmed up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is light and delicious. I made a few changes. I sauteed the garlic and onions in the olive oil. I then added 1 pint of grape tomatoes, added salt and pepper, and let them cook until they started to burst. This really adds a punch and thickens the sauce a little. I rolled the basil leaves up together and julienned them instead of leaving them whole and added this to the tomato mixture. I let this sit until I cooked the pasta. I drained the pasta and ran cold water over it to get it to room temperature. Put the pasta in a bowl and added the Parmesan Cheese. I buy marinated feta cheese from a local stand. Mix the parmesan and feta with the pasta and then add the tomato mixture. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
How can you ever go wrong with tomato and basil? I used cubes of mozzarella instead of parmesan or feta, added a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar, and some crushed red pepper flakes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
We love this recipe. Even my children who are known to be picky at times gobble it right up. I use grape tomatoes halved, green onion along with white onion, probably more garlic than it calls for and add extra parmesan. I prefer it warm rather than cold, but it is good cold if you add a little red wine vinegar. Have made it for company and family and they love it too and have asked for the recipe! Now a regular side dish at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I added chopped italian parsley (from my garden) and you could saute' vidalia onions and the basil and italian parsley with and sugar snap peas and some finely sliced zucchini (I used my mandolin) it really enhances the flavor and the texture. I added a splash of balsamic vinegar too. Yummy! I find my garden the creator of most of my summer meals. Throw items in that are ready to be picked and viola! you have a new dish. Its been a hot summer, so it's nice to have some cold leftovers that are ready to munch. I doubled the recipe so I could have more refrigerated and ready after a long day and commute. Thank you Angela! :>D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I took the suggestion of others and lightly sauted the onion, garlic and then the basil. I also substituted sun-dried tomatoes for regular tomatoes. It was very good and I will try again. It would work well for a picnic - a step up from the usual boring macaroni salad. Next time I think I will give regular tomatoes a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States